LibGuides: Nursing and Health Sciences Subject Guide: Other databases

Other databases

Some of these databases might be useful for your searching.

ASSIA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is designed to meet the information needs of the caring professions, and spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals, from more than 16 countries.
Login with your University of Dundee username and password
MIDIRS Midwifery Digest This link opens in a new window MIDIRS Reference Database takes the stress out of searching for research materials by scouring our database of over 220,000 articles at the click of a button.
Access is via the UK Federation. Select Institutional Login, then search institutions for University of Dundee and login. Access is restricted to 1 concurrent user.
Maternity and Infant Care This link opens in a new window Maternity and Infant Care is a database covering over 400 English-language journals and other sources. It draws together references from journal articles, book chapters, reports, pamphlets, news items, audio visual materials, conference proceedings and other ‘grey literature’ relating to the midwifery profession, pregnancy, labor, birth, postnatal care, infant feeding, neonatal care up until two years of age, and the transition to parenthood and contains over 225,000 bibliographic references with abstracts
Access is via the UK Federation. Select Institutional Login, then search institutions for University of Dundee and login. Access is restricted to 1 concurrent user.

Coronavirus Research Database Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic
more...less...
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES® provides the full text of more than 100 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
For off-campus use - log in with your University of Dundee username and password.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Our University subscription to Pressreader offers access to thousands of newspapers and magazines from around the world. Access is generally from the current issue back to 2004, where available. Settings include options for automatic translation, and text to speech. See PressReader Libguide https://libguides.dundee.ac.uk/c.php?g=713395 for further details.

Pressreader can be read on a desktop, smart phone or tablet, using the Pressreader app. Go to Sign In, choosing Library or Group, and select the University of Dundee, followed by your usual username and password.
Pressreader can be read on a desktop, smart phone or tablet, using the Pressreader app. Go to Sign In, choosing Library or Group, and select the University of Dundee, followed by your usual username and password.
Royal College of Nursing online journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gives access to 10 leading nursing journals from the Royal College of Nursing publishing company
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password.
Nexis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes online UK and international newspapers. To find Financial Times (London) content, go to Search and select Power Search. In the box showing 'Enter search terms and connectors" type in the following [this example is looking for items on Brexit]:
PUBLICATION(“financial times”) and Brexit
Sign in with University of Dundee username and password.

Other resources that might be of interest

BMJ Learning This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BMJ Learning offers high-quality continuing medical education for doctors and other healthcare professionals. It features hundreds of accredited, peer-reviewed learning modules in text, video, and audio formats.
Login choosing Institutional login, and Shibboleth, with your University of Dundee username and password. You will be prompted to setup a personal login, which may be the same as your BMJ journals login)
Families Outside: tools and resources This link opens in a new window
Families Outside constantly creates new tools, research, and resources to support professionals who regularly come into contact with families affected by imprisonment
Intermid This link opens in a new window
Intermid contains all content from the British Journal of Midwifery from 1996 onwards. It also exclusively includes access to its sister title, African Journal of Midwifery and Women’s Health.
For off-campus access select Sign in/Sign in via Shibboleth/UK Higher Education/University of Dundee, and use your University of Dundee username and password
JAMA Network This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International peer-reviewed journals from the American Medical Association
Select Sign In/Shibboleth/UK Access Management Federation/University of Dundee and use your University of Dundee username and password
Ovid's COVID-19 Toolkit for Clinicians This link opens in a new window
COVID-19 period. Resources for front-line clinicians and medical researchers have been made openly available in response to the global pandemic.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Built upon SAGE’s legacy of methods publishing, SAGE Research Methods is the essential online tool for researchers.
Please select Login via your Institution, choosing UK federation and University of Dundee with your usual UoD Username and password
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Login with your University of Dundee username and password.
Times Higher Education Supplement This link opens in a new window
THE is the data provider underpinning university excellence in every continent across the world. As the company behind the world’s most influential university ranking, and with almost five decades of experience as a source of analysis and insight on higher education, we have unparalleled expertise on the trends underpinning university performance globally. Our data and benchmarking tools are used by many of the world’s most prestigious universities to help them achieve their strategic goals.
For access you must Register for an account using your University of Dundee e-mail address. Registered users can also download the app for access on personal devices.
Wolters Kluwer COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Resources This link opens in a new window
This Wolters Kluwer dedicated resource page is where you can find a range of curated information and resources from their product portfolio that they have opened access to for the medical community as the coronavirus (COVID-19) situation evolves.