Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing and Health Sciences Subject Guide

Learn about key library resources for studying health sciences

Search the Library

A member of library staff pushing a library trolley of books within a library

Find resources you need using "Library Search" 

Key Databases to search for Nursing and Health Sciences

  • Cinahl Plus - Easy access to the Most Authoritative Nursing and Allied Health Literature

For Off campus select Institutional login, then UK Higher Education and University of Dundee

  • Medline - Access biomedical and health literature

For Off campus select Institutional login, then UK Higher Education and University of Dundee

  • PubMed - Access global biomedical and life science literature

No login required

  • Scopus - Access social sciences database. Excellent resource for mental health literature

No login required

  • Trip Pro - Access research evidence to support healthcare practice

No login required

  • Cochrane Library - Access high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Use for finding existing systematic reviews.

No login required

A selection of Nursing and Health Sciences e-books, added September 2020 to March 2021

Hover over the book cover to see the title/author details and select to view in Library Search, then sign in to view availability and location of print texts and if available as an e-book, access full text.

Key University Archive Resources in Nursing and Health Sciences

Primary source material relating to nursing and health sciences can be found across a range of collections including research papers and notes of staff members but particularly within the NHS Tayside collections which date from the early 19th century and include hospital and asylum records across Tayside and surrounding areas. They include staff and patient records, photographs and reports. Staff training records, photographs and examples of daily working life can be found in the collection. These can be used to learn about working practices of nursing across the decades and trace family members who worked in the profession. Looking at medical care and treatments in the past can be invaluable in understanding where we are today.

You can find items of interest by searching our archives and collections online catalogue

To find out more about the Archive go to www.dundee.ac.uk/archives and email archives@dundee.ac.uk with your questions.

Vitamin diagram dated 1946Nurses practising a fire drill c1920. Wearing uniforms with long aprons and hats, some of the nurses are pulling a cart with fire hoses.