Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Off campus access to Databases, Journal articles and E-books

On and Off campus - how to reach full text e-books, journal articles and databases

  • When you use on-campus PCs you will only have to login for certain collections, such as the  Box of Broadcasts.  The IP address of your PC will show the publisher that you are a member of the University of Dundee and entitled to access their collections.
  • However, off campus, you will normally have to login, to 'prove' to the publishers that you are a member of the University of Dundee.  This means you need to look for a login option called one of the following (note, do not select the Open Athens option, as we do not use this method at Dundee) 
    • Institutional login
    • Sign in via your institution
    • Shibboleth login
    • UK federation                              

Some typical examples are shown below.  The basic process normally involves looking for a Login or Sign-in box, then selecting your area (UK, or UK Higher Education, or UK Federation) and then your institution (University of Dundee), followed by your usual Username and Password. 

You will usually find that once you have logged into Library Search, or one of our main collections or databases, you may not need to login to the next resource you use, during the same browser session.

 

Logging into Dundee Library Resources - some examples

  • EBSCO hosts many of our databases and collections.  To login, choose the UK Higher Education (from the region or group dropdown menu), and then select the University of Dundee (from the list of institutions which appears)

Image of EBSCO login box

 

  • Journal and E-book sites often show a login or sign in box in the top right of the screen, as below for Science Direct.  Click on the Sign in box

 

Shows login box on ScienceDirect

 

 

You will then see a welcome message, with the option to 'Sign in via your institution'.  Choose this, then type 'Dundee' and follow the prompts to login.

 

.Choose 'Sign in via your institution'Y

 

 

Logging in to resources - extra features available

When you are logged into our Dundee collections, you will find extra benefits, such as:

  • Find-It (Linking button)  - as below.  Within databases, the 'Find It' button will allow you to link back to our Dundee Library Search service to reach the full text version of a journal article if we have it.

 

  • Find-it button to link to full text at Dundee

 

  • When logged in, you will also be able to use extra features on the E-book collection sites, such as downloading full text, or filtering to content owned by the University of Dundee, as shown  below at the E-book Central site.  You may also be able to set up a personal folder on the sites, allowing  you to save your favourite titles on a 'bookshelf'.  This additional feature is often called 'My Account', or 'My Bookshelf',  and can allow you to download records into your EndNote Library.

EBL Ebook download options

 

 

 

  • The login process for other collections is shown in our complete guide,  Off campus guide to databases 
  • Our Subject Libguides include advice and tips for using databases and e-resources in your subject
  • A guide to accessing and using our collections of online books is shown in the E-books Libguide
  • Using online journals and accessing articles is covered in the  E-journals Libguide
  • The basic login process is also described for each collection in our complete A-Z list of resources