English & Film Studies Subject Guide

Discovering Literature brings to life the social, political and cultural context in which key works of literature were written. Enjoy digitised treasures from the Brtish Library collection, newly commissioned articles, short documentary films and teachers’ notes.

A comprehensive anthology and guide to English literature of the Middle Ages, Renaissance, Seventeenth Century, Restoration and Eighteenth Century.

This unique, searchable database contains profiles of some of the UK and Commonwealth's most important living writers. Included in the profiles are biographies, bibliographies, critical reviews and information about awards.

This collection of interviews with some of the 20th Century's most read authors reveals something of those imaginations and the personalities which lie behind some of the greatest modern novels.

The Black British Women Writers website seeks to stimulate the discussion of the literary art of women writers of African and African-Caribbean descent living in Britain.

The Scottish Poetry Library provides the leading resource for exploring Scottish poetry. Search and browse from over 3,000 poems, use the Online Guide to Scottish Poets, or dip into Best Scottish Poems anthologies. The Poetry Library also has podcasts featuring interviews with poets exploring their work and also a guide to Scottish poetry publishers.

Free introductory study guides for a number of classic literature titles, including side-by-side translations for some old English texts.

This is a good source for conducting film research. It contains production data, awards, user reviews, plot summaries, and whether it is commercially available on video or DVD. The database can be searched for titles, personal names, plots, quotes, and character names.

This site has been developed by the University of Alabama - Telecommunication and Film department. The site aims is to develop the scholarly study of film and television . Among its many interesting features are a page of course syllabi from film classes worldwide, film program descriptions, film textbook reviews, and much more.

The Film Analysis Guide was developed to meet the needs of faculty and students at Yale who are interested in becoming familiar with the vocabulary of film studies and the techniques of cinema. The user can either read the complete document or search out a particular topic of interest. Related links within the Guide are provided as appropriate, as are links to film clips illustrating the topic or term in question.