LibGuides: Art and Design Subject Guide: Streaming, Magazines, multimedia

No Netfix...?

You can still have movie night. Use UoD alternatives:

Box of Broadcasts (or BoB)

Stream off-air TV and radio recordings. Login by University of Dundee.

You can stream programmes, set up recordings, make playlists & clips.

Browse curated playlists by academics from diverse subjects

Kanopy

Stream films, documentaries or binge watch series on any device.

No money for magazines? Try PressReader

Try PRESSREADER

Get access to thousands of international newspapers and magazines. Read onscreen or download App.

Go to Sign In, choosing Library or Group, and select the University of Dundee, followed by your usual username and password

For more information, see PressReader guide.

other resources

Alexander Street Press videos This link opens in a new window includes a range of free to access content, but we do not have access to all the videos. Includes documentaries, plays, and instructional materials. Click on 'Titles' to view content available at Dundee.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For off campus access Log in, type University of Dundee in the Institution name box and select it, then use your University of Dundee username and password
BFI Player This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Login with your University of Dundee username and password. New users will be asked if they wish to connect their personal LinkedIn account with their new LinkedIn Learning account. This is optional, and a personal LinkedIn account is not needed to use the courses and videos on LinkedIn Learning. To create your LinkedIn Learning account, enter your University email address and follow the on-screen instructions.
TRILT - Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching This link opens in a new window
For off campus access, Click on "sign in" - at the 'Where are you from' prompt, select University of Dundee from the drop-down menu - select and sign in with University of Dundee username and password.

Arts on Film Archive
free access: "The archive offers a complete database and an on-line video streaming of all 450 films made by the film department of Arts Council England between 1953 and 1998 and several films produced till 2003 by the dance Department of ACE."
LUX Artists’ moving image
(representing 4500 works by approximately 1500 artists from 1920s to the present day). Use for exploring British based artists’ film and video in depth, browse content by artist, work title or by themes, such as abstraction and installation.
Scotland on Screen
Free access: "provides free access to films from the Scottish Screen Archive with accompanying learning resources ........ The films document over a century of Scottish lives on film, with particular reference to social, economic and environmental change."

Scottish Screen Archive: the Scottish Screen Archive is Scotland's national moving images collection.

Arts on Film Archive: free access: "The archive offers a complete database and an on-line video streaming of all 450 films made by the film department of Arts Council England between 1953 and 1998 and several films produced till 2003 by the dance Department of ACE."

FIAF International Film Archive The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) brings together institutions dedicated to rescuing films both as cultural heritage and as historical documents. More than 150 archives in over 77 countries collect, restore, and exhibit films and cinema documentation spanning the entire history of film.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 2 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities and sciences, gathered from hundreds of collections and galleries worldwide. The images may be used, with acknowledgement, in teaching and research.
Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bridgeman Education provides access to over 650,000 images - all copyright-cleared for educational use - from museums and art galleries worldwide. All downloaded images should have the following credit "© Bridgeman Images" attached.
For off campus access click on User Login, Shibboleth Login, find and select University of Dundee, then sign in using your University of Dundee username and password.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
Login with your University of Dundee username and password.
Wellcome Images This link opens in a new window
Wellcome Library shares 100,000 free medical images with Wikimedia Commons.

Archive of Digital Art
Free access, it covers installation art and the methods used, contributors must have participated in at least five exhibitions, and or five publications in the field of digital art (started in 1999). The aim of the resource is to present works that place themselves at the interaction of art, science and technology. International media artists, researchers and institutions around the world currently take part in this project.
Art Images for College Teaching
a free-access, free-use for education collection, with emphasis on ancient, medieval and renaissance European art.
Art UK
free access: "Art UK formerly Your Paintings is a website which aims to show the entire UK national collection of oil paintings, the stories behind the paintings, and where to see them for real. It is made up of paintings from thousands of museums and other public institutions around the country."
Capital Collections
Free access: the Image Library of Edinburgh City Libraries and Museums and Galleries
Digital Archive
Free access: "the digital archive comprises photographs plus documents, publications and other printed material either created or gathered by Richard Demarco. The digital records are drawn from the Demarco archives held by the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art and the Demarco European Art Foundation."
Google Art Project
Free access: "Explore museums from around the world discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces."
VADS: The Visual Arts Data Service
VADS provides a national collection of over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections across the UK, which are freely available for non-commercial use in education. The images cover the broad range of the visual arts including applied arts, architecture, design, fashion, fine art, and media. VADS is a service of the Library at the University for the Creative Arts (UCA).
Victoria & Albert Museum Collections
free access: "You may search here for 45,000 works and 72,000 images from the V&A collections ... You are welcome to use the information and the images for personal use and educational purposes in print or on the web."
Web Gallery of Art
free access: "a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 1100-1850 ... The Web Gallery of Art is copyrighted as a database. Images and documents downloaded from this database can only be used for educational and personal purposes. Distribution of the images in any form is prohibited without the authorization of their legal owner."

Your Paintings: free access: "Your Paintings is a website which aims to show the entire UK national collection of oil paintings, the stories behind the paintings, and where to see them for real. It is made up of paintings from thousands of museums and other public institutions around the country."

New York Public Library Digital Gallery: free access: NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 550,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more........Images may be freely downloaded for personal, research, and study purposes only.

Media Plus (formerly JISC Media Hub) This link opens in a new window
Multimedia items including TV news, documentary films, still images and more from a number of different archive collections. Note this collection is gradually incorporating the former JISC Media Hub content (over the last 4 months of 2016).
For off campus access use your University of Dundee username and password.
SCRAN - Scottish Cultural Resources Network This link opens in a new window
SCRAN is a collection of thousands of images, movies and sounds relating to Scotland from museums, galleries, archives and the media.
For off campus use select the Shibboleth route, and the University of Dundee

BBC Archive
free access, collections of themed audio, video and still images from the BBC's vast archives. Please note these programmes are not provided in a downloadable format.
British Artists' Film and Video Study Collection
free access "Is dedicated to documenting the achievements of British moving-image artists. It contains over 4000 video copies of artists' works, approximately 5000 still images, files on 450 artists, a library of over 1000 books and magazines, a collection of historical posters and publication materials, and documentation relating to key artist-led organisations, public funding bodies, etc."

DVD Collections at Dundee

Both Main Library, and DJCAD Library have substantial collections of DVDs and videos, including British, American and European cinema films. Titles will be found in Library Search

PressReader This link opens in a new window
Our University subscription to Pressreader offers access to thousands of newspapers and magazines from around the world. Access is generally from the current issue back to 2004, where available. Settings include options for automatic translation, and text to speech. See PressReader Libguide https://libguides.dundee.ac.uk/c.php?g=713395 for further details.

Pressreader can be read on a desktop, smart phone or tablet, using the Pressreader app. Go to Sign In, choosing Library or Group, and select the University of Dundee, followed by your usual username and password.
Pressreader can be read on a desktop, smart phone or tablet, using the Pressreader app. Go to Sign In, choosing Library or Group, and select the University of Dundee, followed by your usual username and password.
Burney Collection Newspaper Archive (17th to 18th century) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) form the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. Includes over 1,200 titles
British Library newspapers, 1800-1900 This link opens in a new window
Includes full runs of national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society. Access is to collections 1 & 2, including The Dundee Courier, & The Glasgow Herald.
For off campus access use your University of Dundee username and password.
Scotsman Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete coverage of the Scotsman newspaper for the years 1817-1950
Access is via the UK Federation. Login with your University of Dundee username and password.
The Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
The Times in full text, including news, editorials, advertising, and images
For off-campus access Login with your University of Dundee username and password
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. The University of Dundee has access to collections 1 and 2.
For off campus access sign in with your University of Dundee username and password.
Nexis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes online UK and international newspapers. To find Financial Times (London) content, go to Search and select Power Search. In the box showing 'Enter search terms and connectors" type in the following [this example is looking for items on Brexit]:
PUBLICATION(“financial times”) and Brexit
Sign in with University of Dundee username and password.