Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Languages Subject Guide

Learn about key library resources for studying languages

Welcome

Welcome to your Languages Subject Guide! 

Hello in different languages

Here, we have gathered useful resources for you to use that will help you with your studies and assignments. They are divided in the following categories: 

  • Journal databases
  • E-books
  • Dictionaries
  • Films
  • Websites
  • News resources
  • Multimedia resources
  • Referencing

In the Home Page, you will find some of the newest books in the Library Collection related to Languages. You can also perform searches to the Library Collection using "Library Search", directly from the Subject Guide Home page. There are also some quick links to services you might find useful, such as Reading Lists, an A to Z list of all our online resources, as well as information on how to request books that are not currently part of the collection.

If you feel that you need any extra help, don't hesitate to contact us using the info on the left.

Use the tabs on the left of the page to navigate across the various resources.

Library Search

Use Library Search to help you find books, journal articles and other useful resources held at the University of Dundee.

Inter-Library Loans

You can apply for a free inter-library loan (ILL) when you need a book, journal or journal article not held in our collection. We will do our best to source it from another library on your behalf. 

shelf of colourful books

Language Books

Key University Archive Resources in Languages

Primary source material is a valuable resource for subjects, including Languages, particularly our publishing collections which contain books translated from English. 

You can find items of interest by searching our archives and collections online catalogue

To find out more about the Archive go to www.dundee.ac.uk/archives and email archives@dundee.ac.uk with your questions.

Open pages of a printed book, Colloquial Hindustani.