LibGuides: Languages Subject Guide: Films

DVD collections at Dundee

There are many DVDs available for loan in the library. These are located within the multimedia collection on the top floor of the Main Library, and DJCAD Library. It is possible to request them to any library site. Use Library Search to find the title of the film you would like to watch. You can use the advanced search option to limit the language for your results. If you do not have access to a DVD player please speak to the library staff at the InfoZone in the Main Library. Do make sure you have unlocked the DVD case before you leave the library if you want to borrow a DVD. It is possible to unlock the DVD's at the exit to the library (after the security gates) at Main Library and DJCAD.

Box of Broadcasts

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) from Learning On Screen is an innovative shared online off-air Television and radio recording service.
Also see this link
https://learningonscreen.ac.uk/bob-curated-playlists/
for "A rich resource of collected clips and individual Television or radio broadcasts created by academics around specific subject areas or modules."
For off campus access, Sign In, select home institution University of Dundee, then sign in using you University of Dundee username and password.

With BoB you can:

Search through an archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts
Access content from 10 foreign language channels (e.g. ZDF, tagesschau24, France 24, RT, NHK World, RaiNews 24 and Arte)
Create clips to use in presentations or coursework
Save playlists of your favourite series or language films

Film institutes, archives and resources

Cinémathèque Française
Since its creation in 1936 by Henri Langlois, the French Cinémathèque has given as much importance to films as to everything related to them (archives, books, devices, costumes, models, etc.). Thanks to this visionary spirit, the institution has assembled an impressive collection of films, archives and devices. Through its originality, singularity and scope, this collection constitutes an inexhaustible resource for the study of art and the film industry.
CineSeries CinemaSeries
Find the latest trailers, outputs, news, reviews and show times. Featuring specialized reports on films and television series.
French cinema vocabulary
Vocabulaire de base pour le domaine du cinéma en français produced by David F. Bell, at Duke University.
Vocabulaire du cinéma
Quizlet of Vocabulaire du cinéma - Flashcards pour le vocabulaire de l'analyse cinématographique.
Deutsches Filminstitut & Filmmuseum
Online exhibitions, talks and lectures by directors, actors and other personalities from the world of film. Recommendations of movies which can currently be found on streaming services and in media libraries.
filmportal.de
A free-of-charge internet platform for reliable, in-depth information on German cinema.
German Films
German Films Service + Marketing GmbH is the national information and advisory center for the promotion of German films worldwide.
The Institute of Cinematography and Audiovisual Arts [Instituto de la Cinematografía y de las Artes Audiovisuales] (ICAA)
ICAA is an independent body ascribed to the Secretary of State for Culture, which programmes policies to support the film industry and audio-visual production in Spain.
Filmoteca Española
Filmoteca Española is an organization in charge of the preservation of the Spanish cinematographic heritage.

Film Index International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. Film Index International provides in-depth indexing of over 125,000 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for more than 800,000 personalities. Its rich content also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password

Internet Movie Database
This is a good source for conducting film research. It contains production data, awards, user reviews, plot summaries, and whether it is commercially available on video or DVD. The database can be searched for titles, personal names, plots, quotes, and character names.