LibGuides: Geography &amp; Environmental Science Subject Guide: Useful websites

Library Search

Use Library Search to help you find books, journal articles and other useful resources held at the University of Dundee.

Quick Links

Resource Lists
Search by your module code or title
A-Z list of eResources
You can filter the list by Subject to see your 'Best bets'
More Books
Do you want us to buy a book to add to our collection? Do you think an extra copy or an e-book would be helpful? Please get in touch.

Tips on evaluating websites

The 5Cs website evaluation provides a structured guide to evaluation, giving tips and suggesting key considerations. The 5Cs are the key areas that need to be addressed in a comprehensive evaluation: credibility, currency, content, construction and clarity.

Credibility

Is it obvious where the information has come from, i.e. can you clearly identify the author or organisation involved in producing the information?
Does the resource contain sufficient detail about the author.organisation?
Are the author/editor/organisation and publisher well-established and reputable?
Is the author acknowledged as an expert in the field?
Is the information published in a quality source (a peer-reviewed journal or a credible personal/organisational website)?
Look at the web address for clues. Is it ac.uk or .edu (educational), for example, or .com (commercial)?

Currency

Is it clear when the resource was published?
If the resource is a website, is it updated regularly?
Does the date of publication meet your requirements?
Is the information current or obsolete?
Are there broken links?

Content

Is the information accurate and free from errors? (Check spelling, grammar, calculations etc.)
Is the information complete?
Are there adverts for products? The aim of the website may be commercial, and the information biased towards these products
Is there anything missing from the website, which you would expect to see?
Does the website give a balnced view, or is it positively or negatively biased?

Construction

Are the graphics and fonts appropriate for the level of information you require? As you would expect?
Can you find information easily?
Are there pop-ups, adverts, flashing lights and graphics, which distract you?
What are your first impressions?
Is the information well organised and easy to find?

Clarity

Is the level of writing appropriate for the target group? Secondary school or University level?
Who is the website aimed at? Professional group or the general public?
Is the information accessible in different formats?

Websites

Scottish Evironment Protection Agency

Discover (UK Data Service) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macro-data, business micro-data, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.
The UK Data Service is a comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data.
Access to Discover does not require registration. However, to download data, or to analyse it online where possible, does require registration with the UK Data Service.
Digimap: online Ordnance Survey maps and mapping data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Ordnance Survey collection contains a number of datasets ranging from small scale base maps, such as MiniScale®, to detailed large scale mapping including OS MasterMap®, which is the most detailed large scale vector dataset available from Ordnance Survey. Complete coverage of Great Britain is available for all the products in the collection and all products are updated throughout the year, as and when updates are received from Ordnance Survey.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password. Additionally, to access the Digimap Ordnance Survey Collections, you must first register.

Access is via the UK Federation. Login via UK Federation.

Beginner's Guide to UK Geography
British Geological Survey
Earth Explorer
United States Geological Survey (USGS) service providing access to datasets, images and maps, including geospatial data, satellite images and aerial photographs.
Global Forest Watch
Global Forest Watch (GFW) is an online platform that provides data and tools for monitoring forests. By harnessing cutting-edge technology, GFW allows anyone to access near real-time information about where and how forests are changing around the world.
Scotland's Environment
Gateway to everything you need to know about Scotland's environment.

Geography & Environmental Science Subject Guide

Get Help