Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geography & Environmental Science Subject Guide

Learn about key library resources for studying geography and environmental science

Welcome

Welcome to your Geography and Environmental Subject Guide! 

Here, we have gathered useful resources for you to use that will help you with your studies and assignments. They are divided in the following categories: 

  • Journal databases
  • E-books
  • Websites
  • Digimap
  • Multimedia resources
  • News resources
  • Referencing

In the Home Page, you will find some of the newest books in the Library Collection related to Geography and Environmental Science. You can also perform searches to the Library Collection using "Library Search", directly from the Subject Guide Home page. There are also some quick links to services you might find useful, such as Reading Lists, an A to Z list of all our online resources, as well as information on how to request books that are not currently part of the collection. In addition, you can find information about Inter-Library Loans (ILL), in case you need a resource that is not part of our collection but might be obtained from another library.

If you feel that you need any extra help, don't hesitate to contact us using the info on the left.

Use the tabs on the left of the page to navigate across the various resources.

Library Search

Use Library Search to help you find books, journal articles and other useful resources held at the University of Dundee.

Key University Archive Resources in Geography and Environmental Science

You can use our primary source material, such as river flow and rainfall records, maps, botanical drawings and shipping logbooks to explore environmental change from the 19th century on. Primary source material resources can be used to explore topics such as polar environments, social change and urban and rural development. Our rare book collections detail travel and exploration across the globe over hundreds of years.  

You can find items of interest by searching our archives and collections online catalogue

To find out more about the Archive go to www.dundee.ac.uk/archives and email archives@dundee.ac.uk with your questions.

 Current metering from a bousun's chair on the River Garry, 1913.Water level gauge River Spey, Aberlour

Quick Links

Inter-Library Loans

You can apply for a free inter-library loan (ILL) when you need a book, journal or journal article not held in our collection. We will do our best to source it from another library on your behalf. 

shelf of colourful books

Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law

A selection of Geography & Environmental Science titles added to the LLC this year.

Hover over the book cover to see the title/author details and select to view in Library Search, then sign in to view availability and location of print texts and if available as an e-book, access the full text.