LibGuides: Law: International Law

International Law Databases

Hein Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline hosts a broad range of international law resources, including databases covering international treaties and agreements, international law journals and international law yearbooks. You can browse these resources by selecting the 'International Resources' category.
Jus Mundi (Legal Research) This link opens in a new window
Jus Mundi is the search engine for international law and arbitration. Jus Mundi allows Legal professionals to use AI-powered technology to deliver thorough legal research and monitor the latest legal information from all over the world.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password
Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law This link opens in a new window
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) is a comprehensive online resource containing peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law. Written and edited by an incomparable team of over 800 scholars and practitioners, published in partnership with the Max Planck Foundation for International Peace and the Rule of Law, and updated throughout the year, this major reference work, which contains over 1,700 articles, is essential for anyone researching or teaching international law. Includes access to the newly launched Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law which complements the existing encyclopedia
For off-campus access click on Sign in via your institution, select University of Dundee and enter your University of Dundee username and password
Lexis+ (new interface for Lexis Library & Lexis PSL from September 2023) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International content on Lexis+ can be located in the Explore box under the International tab.
Login with your University of Dundee username and password
Westlaw International This link opens in a new window
Used in over 60 countries, Westlaw International is built on a vast global library of the world's best legal, news and business information and is designed to help you find information, fast. Case law, legislation, law reviews, treaties, directories and much more. Highlights include: Cases and statutes from Australia, Canada, the European Union, Hong Kong, the United Kingdom and the United States; over 11,000 international news sources; and over 1,000 journals including the European Competition Law Review and the Harvard Law Review.
For off-campus use - Sign in with University of Dundee username and password

Research Guides

FLARE - Foreign Law Research
FLARE is a collaboration between the major libraries collecting law in the United Kingdom: Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (Chair), Bodleian Law Library, Squire Law Library, British Library, and School of Oriental and African Studies. It is working to improve the coverage and accessibility of foreign legal materials at the national level and to raise expertise in their use.
Peace Palace Library Research Guides
These Research Guides are prepared and maintained by Law Librarians working at the Peace Palace International Law Library. The Research Guides introduce the researcher to the main topics of international law, both public and private. Besides providing a brief introduction, the guides also suggest certain books, articles, databases and other materials considered indispensable.
IALS International Law Guides
The IALS international law guides highlight key sources of law and secondary materials applicable to international law research including both private and public international law. Please note you may not have access to all resources mentioned in these guides.
Georgetown Law Library Foreign and International Law Guides
These Guides have been compiled by the University of Georgetown Law Library, and contain lots of useful advice on how to search for international legal resources. Please note, however you may not have access to all resources mentioned in these guides.
GlobaLex - Introduction to Researching Foreign Law
This guide describes basic strategies for finding the laws of countries other than the U.S, primarily in English. The emphasis is on codes and laws rather than cases. The guide will also help you find secondary materials that describe other countries' laws. It includes links to websites and to other guides.

International and foreign legal research a coursebook by Hoffman, Marcy.; Rumsey, Mary.
ISBN: 9786613833969
Publication Date: 2012
This book provides comprehensive information on how to research international law topics. Following a general section on basic concepts, topics covered in the book range from treaty research to chapters on particular subjects of international law. Coverage also includes chapters on researching foreign and comparative law as well as major international organizations, including the UN and the EU.

Collections of Primary Sources

WORLDLII
World Legal Information Institute. Free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law
ECOLEX
ECOLEX is an information service on environmental law, operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP. Its purpose is to build capacity worldwide by providing the most comprehensive possible global source of information on environmental law .

International legal materials by American Society of International Law
ISBN: 1930-6571
Publication Date: 1962-
This important journal periodically selects important primary sources of international law to publish and provides expert commentary on them.

Treaties and Treaty Bodies

United Nations Treaty Collection
Use the UN Treaty Series Online search to locate treaties which have been registered with the UN. The search engine allows you to search using a range of fields including title, signatories and subject.
World Trade Organisation Legal Texts
Access all the WTO's founding agreements and subsequent treaties.
International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) - Treaties, State Parties and Commentaries
ICRC provides an index to all historical and in force international humanitarian legal treaties.
International Maritime Organization - List of IMO Conventions
Provides a list of all IMO conventions as well as the full text of the founding convention.
World Intellectual Property Organization - WIPO administered treaties
Links to key IP treaties, including the WIPO convention.

Judicial Decisions

International Court of Justice
The International Court of Justice is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. You can use their website to search for Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders.
International Criminal Court
The ICC tries individuals for genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity and aggression. Their website contains judgements, orders and decisions,as well as descriptions of ongoing cases.
World Trade Organisation Dispute Settlement
Resolving trade disputes is one of the core activities of the WTO. A dispute arises when a member government believes another member government is violating an agreement or a commitment that it has made in the WTO. The WTO has one of the most active international dispute settlement mechanisms in the world. Since 1995, 606 disputes have been brought to the WTO and over 350 rulings have been issued.
Permanent Court of Arbitration
The Permanent Court of Arbitration, established by treaty in 1899, is an intergovernmental organization providing a variety of dispute resolution services to the international community. Their website allows you to search for cases heard by the PCA which have been released to the public and also the rules and conventions governing PCA.
Interntional Tribunal of the Law of the Sea
This Tribunal provides a mechanism for States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea to settle disputes related to this convention.
International Center for Settlement of Investment Disputes
ICSID is the world’s leading institution devoted to international investment dispute settlement. It has extensive experience in this field, having administered the majority of all international investment cases. States have agreed on ICSID as a forum for investor-State dispute settlement in most international investment treaties and in numerous investment laws and contracts.

United Nations Documents

UN Documentation: International Law Library Guide
A clear introductory guide produced by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library at United Nations Headquarters on locating and using UN sources of law.
UN Official Documents System
The Official Document System (ODS) is an online database of UN documents that was first launched in 1993 and updated in 2016. ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents.
The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records. Documents are available in the official languages of the UN; some documents are also available in German.
United Nations Digital Library
The United Nations Digital Library includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications. The platform provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979. System features include linked data between related documentation such as resolutions, meeting records and voting, and refining of searches by UN body, agency or type of document. Use the 'Help' button at the top of the page for advice on searching.
Audiovisual Library of International Law
The Audiovisual Library is a virtual training and research centre which aims to enhance the dissemination and wider appreciation of international law. It also performs a unique and invaluable function by preserving in a vivid and informative manner the audiovisual heritage of legal developments within the United Nations system and promoting a greater awareness of the unparalleled legacy of the United Nations in the codification and progressive development of international law.
The website hosts historic archives, lectures and other learning resources all related to the UN.
The Yearbooks of the United Nations
The Yearbook of the United Nations—published by the Department of Global Communications—stands as the authoritative reference work on the activities and concerns of the Organization. Based on official UN documents, the Yearbook provides comprehensive coverage of political and security matters, human rights issues, economic and social questions, legal issues, and institutional, administrative and budgetary matters.
United Nations Juridical Yearbook
Published on an annual basis, this Yearbook provides a review of legal developments within the UN and related intergovernmental organisations starting from 1963.