LibGuides: Architecture Subject Guide: Information Resources

Library Search

Use Library Search to help you find books, journal articles and other useful resources held at the University of Dundee.

Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
indexes journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.
For off campus access, sign in with your University of Dundee username and password.

Barbour Product Search
Search online to find building products and manufacturers

Bloomsbury Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Architecture Collections provides a diverse range of resources for the study of architecture and the built environment. With subjects ranging from architectural history and theory, to studies of architectural design, urbanism, interiors, landscape, and art history, the works in this collection combine scholarly excellence with a fresh, lively approach to meet the needs of readers from undergraduate level through to advanced researchers.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password
BSI Standards (BSOL online) This link opens in a new window
Standards define best practice in many different areas. They’re put together by groups of experts and come in a number of different kinds, from a set of definitions to a series of strict rules.
Please note that this is a restricted account and we don't have access to all the standards. You will need to install FileOpen software to download the standards to your own computer.
For off-campus access select 'Institutional login' and login with your University of Dundee username and password.
Construction Information Service (provided by IHS Technical Indexes) This link opens in a new window The Construction Information Service includes current regulations, construction standards and industry news covering building, engineering, and design and construction processes. Provides access to relevant British standards, CIBSE documents and other technical data
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password

Digital Commons Network
Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.

LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online video training resource that covers many software packages and subject disciplines such as Business, 3D Animation, 3D Drawing, 3D Printing, CAD, Design Techniques, Education, Photography, Video, and Web Design
Login with your University of Dundee username and password. New users will be asked if they wish to connect their personal LinkedIn account with their new LinkedIn Learning account. This is optional, and a personal LinkedIn account is not needed to use the courses and videos on LinkedIn Learning. To create your LinkedIn Learning account, enter your University email address and follow the on-screen instructions.
Material Connexion This link opens in a new window This is an online database of new materials and processes which includes over 7000 innovative materials in various categories, covering disciplines such as interior design, industrial design, product design, textiles and architecture. Entries include a description of the material, properties and the manufacturer contact details. To register for access if you are on-campus use the link above to take you to the Material ConneXion database, click on 'Log In' in the top right hand corner, then follow the prompts in the pop-up-box to create your own account. Use your '@dundee.ac.uk' e-mail address and note your MC password should be at least 8 characters long, and include at least one letter and one number. For off-campus access see below
To register for access if you are off-campus please go to https://www.materialconnexion.online/database/customer/account/register?SID=v73ip286hr53umfatu0sd81203 and enter Registration Key MgdHh1600875794 and you must use your '@Dundee.ac.uk' e-mail address to register

RIBA Library catalogue
The library of the Royal Institute of British Architects can be used to search online for books, periodicals, photographs and audio visual material.
RIBA Product Selector
Information on products that are specified in building design.

SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals resource containing abstracts and citations.
For off campus access select "login" then "Other Institution Login". Choose UK Access Management Federation from the box then University of Dundee. Enter your University of Dundee username and password. Intermittent login problems (Sept.2023); if you have any difficulties gaining access, try clearing cookies, and using another browser'

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference is an online reference database, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias
For off campus access select "Login with Athens/Access Management Federation", find University of Dundee and login with username and password.

New Books in the Library

Sustainable Architecture by Plan (Organization) Staff (Editor)
Call Number: 720.2 SUS
ISBN: 9788416504206
Publication Date: 2017-11-14
Cheng Taining Architecture by Images Publishing (Editor)
Call Number: 72(52)TAI
ISBN: 9781864707083
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Architecture and Modern Literature by David Spurr
ISBN: 9780472028245
Publication Date: 2012-04-10

Key University Archive Resources in Architecture

The Archive’s collections include relevant primary source material dating from the 19th century. They include domestic, mill and factory plans, photographs, material relating to town planning and the papers of local architectural related organisations.

You can find items of interest by searching our archives and collections online catalogue

To find out more about the Archive go to www.dundee.ac.uk/archives and email archives@dundee.ac.uk with your questions.