LibGuides: E-books: Home

Searching for E-books

Most of our E-books will be found in Library Search (above). Narrow your results by selecting Books, then Full Text Online (see below)
Click on the title of the book, to see the full details (for example Licence details , and options to save a citation for a booklist, or EndNote software)
Then click on View Full Text
You may then be asked to login with your usual University of Dundee username and password

Full details of the E-books (Licence, citation, description)

By clicking on the title of an E-book, you will see fuller details, such as a description of contents, links to citation information, and download options for Bibliographic software such as EndNote.
Licence terms are normally available. These may be useful if you need to check whether any of the text may be printed out or downloaded.
You will also see a Public note if there are any special restrictions - for example if only one person at a time can view a particular E-book
Most of the E-books at the University of Dundee allow multiple concurrent users to access each title

Using E-books at Dundee

The Library buys books in electronic format whenever possible
We have thousands of online books, and all of them can be read on any computer which is connected to the Internet
Many can also be downloaded for a period of time to laptops, tablets, and other devices, for reading offline
You can usually print out up to 5% of an online book
Our e-books come from many different publishers or suppliers, and offer different levels of functionality
The host sites always include detailed Help pages, or User guides
Due to licensing restrictions, our e-books are only available to current staff and students of the University of Dundee
You can find our e-books through Library search (see left hand side of this page), and on the publishers' sites (see the other tabs on this guide)

Our E-book Collections

Details on downloading, printing and other features available are included on the tabs in this guide

VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Login with your University of Dundee username and password
EBSCO Ebook Academic collection This link opens in a new window A collection of over 130,000 online books, from a wide range of academic publishers, and covering all subject areas.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For off campus access use your University of Dundee username and password
Historical texts (includes EEBO, ECCO and 19thc. British Library titles) This link opens in a new window A collection of over 350,000 books published in England from 1475 to 1900. Includes Early English Books Online, Eighteenth Century Collections Online and 19th century titles from the British Library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For off campus access select 'Click to sign in' icon, Login, type or select University of Dundee and sign in with your University of Dundee username and password
Oxford Reference online This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference is an online reference database, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For off campus access select "Login with Athens/Access Management Federation", find University of Dundee and login with username and password.
SAGE Ebooks collection This link opens in a new window Over 2000 recent online books in the subject areas of Business, Education, Health, Psychology and Sociology
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password
ScienceDirect E-books This link opens in a new window Over 8000 recent Elsevier published e-books in the subject areas of science, medicine and social sciences
For off campus access select "sign in" then "Other Institution Login". Choose UK Access Management Federation from the box then University of Dundee. Enter your University of Dundee username and password.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window A large collection of journals, e-books and other resources from Springer. Subject coverage is mainly in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Engineering
For off campus access go to Login, then "log in via Shibboleth or Athens". Select University of Dundee from the drop-down box and login via Shibboleth. Use your University of Dundee username and password when prompted.
University Press Scholarship Online Ebooks collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 18,000 recent online books from Oxford and other leading university presses. Covers all subject areas.
- This link opens in a new window
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password
Wiley Online Library E-books Collection This link opens in a new window Wiley publishes E-books in all subject areas. Access at Dundee is available only to titles with an unlocked padlock icon.
For off campus access select Login/Register, then choose Institutional login. Select UK Higher Education from the "login with Shibboleth" box. Find University of Dundee followed by your Username and password.
Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-book Library. If you get a message saying that the book you want is ‘being viewed by another patron’, please try again later, or check the library catalogue for another electronic or print copy.
Login with your username and password