LibGuides: Politics &amp; International Relations Subject Guide: Journal databases

Multidisciplinary databases

The following databases contain publications for a wide variety of disciplines and subjects. They are a good starting point for all kinds of research.

SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals resource containing abstracts and citations.
For off campus access select "login" then "Other Institution Login". Choose UK Access Management Federation from the box then University of Dundee. Enter your University of Dundee username and password. Intermittent login problems (Sept.2023); if you have any difficulties gaining access, try clearing cookies, and using another browser'
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database indexing all subject areas, from 1900 onwards. Includes citation indexes.
For off campus access select Institutional Sign in/UK Federation/University of Dundee then enter your University of Dundee username and password

Digital Commons Network

Open access academic research from top universities.

List of Journals

Journal Search - by title or subject category This link opens in a new window
We have compiled a list of all the online journals that the University of Dundee has access to. You can search using the journal title or the ISSN.
BrowZine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is an App and a website, which allows you to browse, discover, read, and keep up to date with the key journals in your subject field, over the majority of the University of Dundee's subscribed E-journals. Additional features allow you to save full text articles, be alerted to new issues of journals, and save citations to Bibliographic software and to social media.
For off-campus access, you may be required to click on Choose my Library and select University of Dundee

Specialised journal databases

ASSIA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is designed to meet the information needs of the caring professions, and spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals, from more than 16 countries.
Login with your University of Dundee username and password
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. The University of Dundee has access to collections 1 and 2.
For off campus access sign in with your University of Dundee username and password.
Hein Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Image-based and fully-searchable libraries of academic law journals, US treaties and agreements, US legislation and Supreme Court decisions, and "classic" law books.
Humanities Index (previously British Humanities Index) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is an international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, covering over internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
For off-campus access login with your University of Dundee username and password
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full access to Arts & Sciences Collections I to XV
For off-campus access, click "login through your library" and then search for University of Dundee. Sign in with username and password.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Project Muse platform hosts a wide range of full text journals in the humanities and social sciences
For off-campus access select Login, then "access via my Institution" now select "shibboleth and then "United Kingdom(UK Federation). Find University of Dundee and use your University of Dundee username and password

Extra JSTOR articles for free

Don't forget you can read articles, which are not included in our institutional subscription, for free on JSTOR.

You have a MyJSTOR account, which comes with a shelf where you can add articles to read online for free. New Journals are added to JSTOR each month. Nearly 100 journals have been added in 2016.

When you see an article you want to read on JSTOR, add it to your shelf. You'll have to keep the article for at least fourteen days, but you'll be able to keep it on the shelf or find a new article to read for free. Enjoy three articles on your shelf at a time.