Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Resources: Home

A list of online resources and tools to help you access journal articles while off-campus.

Open Access Resources

Are you trying to access journal articles and other research publications off-campus? Do you keep hitting paywalls? 

Use Library Search or log-in to the journal website using your University of Dundee details to see if we have subscription access. If the Library does not have a subscription to the journal you can try searching for an Open Access version of the article using some of the tools below. 

Open Access refers to the unrestricted, online access to published research outputs. Published articles, or earlier manuscript versions, are available online through institutional repositories, open access databases, and publisher's websites. We have compiled a list of resources that making finding open access versions of articles easy.

Unpaywall

The Unpaywall browser extension provides free access to over 25 million scholarly articles harvested from over 50,000 publishers and repositories. 

When you view an article on a journal website Unpaywall searches through its database of online sources for a freely accessible version of the article, even if it's behind a paywall.

 

 

                          

Google Scholar Button

The Google Scholar Button browser extension provides easy access to the entire Google Scholar database from any web page, not just journal webpages.

Google Scholar Button will also check to see if there is a full-text copy of an article in the Library catalogue. 

       undefined

Re3Data

Re3Data is a resource for finding research data.

It offers detailed information on more than 2,000 research data repositories, making it the most comprehensive source of reference for research data infrastructures globally.

undefined

Open Library of Humanities

The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is an online platform that publishes 27 fully open access, peer-review journals from across the Humanities disciplines. Articles on the OLH website are free for readers to access, read, download, and share.

Authors can also publish their articles without paying a fee, as the OLH is funded by an international consortium of libraries dedicated to increasing open access scholarship within the Humanities. 

undefined

Open Access Button

Go to the Open Access Button website to search for millions of articles by title, citation, URL, or DOI. The browser extension will automatically search for a free pdf of any article you view online. 

If Open Access Button cannot find a pdf of the article it requests a copy directly from the author. 

                                  

National Emergency Library

The National Emergency Library has 1.4 millions digitized books available for anyone with an internet connection to borrow without the usual digital library restrictions. Readers can borrow up to 10 books at a time and at the end of the standard 14 day period loans can be renewed immediately.

 

Organised by the Internet Archive (creators of the Way Back Machine), this arrangement is in place until 30 June 2020 or the end of the state of National Emergency in the USA, whichever is longer.  

 

DOAJ

The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) is a service that indexes high quality, peer reviewed Open Access research journals, periodicals and their articles' metadata.

It has a curated list of around 12,000 open access journals and aims to cover all publications that meet DOAJ's high standards of Open Access best practice. 

undefined

EThOS

EThOS (E-theses Online Service) is the UK's national thesis service. 

It provides access to over 500,000 theses awarded by institutions from across the UK either through a downloadable digital copy or a link to the awarding institution's own repository. EThOS holds theses dating back to 1800 and around 3000 new records are added every month. 

undefined

CORE Discovery

CORE Discovery harvests repositories and journal websites to create the world's biggest database of open access research articles. The CORE Discovery browser extension provides one-click access to a free, full-text version of a journal article. 

 

CORE Discovery searches for articles in its own database and thousands of external sources.

 

undefined

Libkey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that searches the Library catalogue for a journal article you are viewing. If the Library doesn't have it then Libkey Nomad searches a for a full-text version using the Unpaywall database of 25 million articles.

The browser extension allows for one-click access to articles and does not require your University of Dundee login details to search through the Library catalogue.

undefined

Discovery Research Portal

Discovery Research Portal is the University of Dundee's online collection of published research material.

It contains over 40,000 records of research outputs by University of Dundee staff, dating back 50 years. Institutional repositories like the Discovery Research Portal are a great source of accepted manuscripts and open access versions of articles, conference papers, book chapters, data, and much more. 

 

undefined

OpenDOAR

OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories) can be used to search through thousands of open access repositories at once.

To be included in OpenDOAR, repositories must meet a set of criteria that ensures open access to reliable, quality research material from across the globe. 

 

undefined

Using these resources

No library has access to every journal and the same is true for these open access resources. You may want to consider using more than one to ensure your search for articles is as wide as possible. 

Many of these tools are browser extensions. This means they can be added to your internet browser and provide one-click access to articles.

Some browser extensions require you to enter your Library login details to check for subscription access to articles. Always read the terms and conditions of any tools you use and be aware of potential risks to your and other's personal data.