LibGuides: Engineering Subject Guide: Civil Engineering articles

Where to look for Civil Engineering articles

As well as Library Search, there are a large number of specialist resources that will help you find articles useful for civil engineering research. These include:

ICE Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ICE Virtual Library hosts all the content from ICE Publishing, the publishing division of the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE). Here you can explore the archives back to 1836, browse ICE Publishing's internationally renowned journals and access over 1,500 print and ebooks to find the information you need.
For off-campus access select "Sign In" then "Sign in via your Institution". Now select UK Higher Education and enter your University of Dundee username and password
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Digital Library, also known as IEEE XPlore, is a large database of journal articles and conference proceedings covering all areas of engineering (not just electrical). It is an excellent resources for engineering research.
For off-campus access select Institutional sign in, then select Shibboleth. Search for University of Dundee and login with username and password.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals resource containing abstracts and citations.
For off campus access select "login" then "Other Institution Login". Choose UK Access Management Federation from the box then University of Dundee. Enter your University of Dundee username and password. Intermittent login problems (Sept.2023); if you have any difficulties gaining access, try clearing cookies, and using another browser'
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database indexing all subject areas, from 1900 onwards. Includes citation indexes.
For off campus access select Institutional Sign in/UK Federation/University of Dundee then enter your University of Dundee username and password

There is also an A-Z list of all resources available at University of Dundee. You may wish to skim through this list to see if there are other resources that would be useful for your topic. You can also make an appointment with a librarian to get further advice.

LibKey Nomad

Download the LibKey Nomad browser extension for simpler and quicker access to the full text of journal articles and eBooks. More information about how LibKey Nomad works is available on the e-journals guide.

Other useful resources for Civil Engineering

Construction Information Service (provided by IHS Technical Indexes) This link opens in a new window
The Construction Information Service includes current regulations, construction standards and industry news covering building, engineering, and design and construction processes. Provides access to relevant British standards, CIBSE documents and other technical data
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password
Digimap: online Ordnance Survey maps and mapping data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Ordnance Survey collection contains a number of datasets ranging from small scale base maps, such as MiniScale®, to detailed large scale mapping including OS MasterMap®, which is the most detailed large scale vector dataset available from Ordnance Survey. Complete coverage of Great Britain is available for all the products in the collection and all products are updated throughout the year, as and when updates are received from Ordnance Survey.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password. Additionally, to access the Digimap Ordnance Survey Collections, you must first register.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online video training resource that covers many software packages and subject disciplines such as Business, 3D Animation, 3D Drawing, 3D Printing, CAD, Design Techniques, Education, Photography, Video, and Web Design
Login with your University of Dundee username and password. New users will be asked if they wish to connect their personal LinkedIn account with their new LinkedIn Learning account. This is optional, and a personal LinkedIn account is not needed to use the courses and videos on LinkedIn Learning. To create your LinkedIn Learning account, enter your University email address and follow the on-screen instructions.
Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Box Of Broadcasts (BoB) provides over 2 million programmes broadcast on UK terrestrial television and radio. BoB is only available within the United Kingdom. You do need a TV licence to use BoB.
For off campus access, Sign In, select home institution University of Dundee, then sign in using you University of Dundee username and password.

Help with finding articles

There is a guide on literature searching to help your search searching for articles, or you can contact the library with any questions.