LibGuides: Urban Planning Subject Guide: Your Dissertation

Help with referencing

Cite them right online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is the University of Dundee's go-to resource for help with creating reference lists and bibliographies for all your essays, assignments and dissertations. The interactive guide shows you how to reference books, journal articles, webpages and many other types of resource. It provides support for all the major referencing standards - Harvard, Vancouver, Oscola, APA, MLA and MHRA. You even have the option to email a reference

Cite This For Me
This free online tool provides help with referencing a specific resource - book, journal article, webpage and so on.
Mendeley
You Tube videos on EndNote training
Channel on You Tube with many videos on how to get the best fro EndNote
Zotero

Journal Indexes

ASSIA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is designed to meet the information needs of the caring professions, and spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals, from more than 16 countries.
Login with your University of Dundee username and password
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
indexes journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.
For off campus access, sign in with your University of Dundee username and password.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals resource containing abstracts and citations.
For off campus access select "login" then "Other Institution Login". Choose UK Access Management Federation from the box then University of Dundee. Enter your University of Dundee username and password. Intermittent login problems (Sept.2023); if you have any difficulties gaining access, try clearing cookies, and using another browser'
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database indexing all subject areas, from 1900 onwards. Includes citation indexes.
For off campus access select Institutional Sign in/UK Federation/University of Dundee then enter your University of Dundee username and password

Internet resources

Association for Project Safety
Britain From Above 1919 - 1953
Department for Communities and Local Government
Directgov : Public Services
Dundee City Council Local Development Plan
Dundee City Council Planning and Environment
Dundee Civic Trust
Environmental News Network
European Environment Agency
Forestry and Land Scotland
The Scottish Government agency responsible for managing Scotland’s national forests and land.
Forestry Commission
The Forestry Commission increases the value of woodlands to society and the environment.
Find open data
Find data published by central government, local authorities and public bodies to help you build products and services
Joseph Rowntree Foundation
Legislation.co.uk
National Association of Homebuilders
National Housing Federation
Natural England
NatureScot
OECD Stats
Past Forward Stories of Urban Scotland
A publication from Historic Environment Scotland providing a legacy for Scotland’s Urban Past (SUP) programme. This was a five year National Lottery Heritage Funded programme which asked communities across the country to record, research, celebrate and share the places that matter the most to them.
Planetizen : Urban Planning Design and Development Network
Planners Web
The Planning Inspectorate
From the Planning Portal - the UK Government's online planning and building regulations resources for England and Wales.
The Planning Report
Planning Resource
Scottish Environment Protection Agency (SEPA)
Scottish Government
Scottish Parliament
TAYplan
The Strategic Development Planning Authority for Dundee, Perth, Angus and North Fife.
UK Local Government Information
An overview of local government structure
UK Parliament
The UK Parliament has two Houses that work on behalf of UK citizens to check and challenge the work of Government, make and shape effective laws, and debate/make decisions on the big issues of the day.
Urban Conservation Glossary
Urban Land Institute

Surveys & questionnaires

The Bristol Online Surveys (BOS) tool is used to create surveys and questionnaires. It allows complex surveys to be created, distributed and shared, plus it also allows for some data analysis.

Note that although several web-based online survey tools exist (e.g. SurveyMonkey) be aware that, as they are hosted overseas, they are not subject to UK data protection legislation, which raises significant ethical and legal issues. It is therefore important that you use the Bristol Online Survey software in preference to free web-based tools.

Click here to download the BOS User Guide

Statistical analysis

The University provides several different statistical analysis tools. The most important of these is NVivo, a qualitative data analysis tool which helps you make sense of text-based/non-numerical data such as free-text or verbal responses in surveys or questionnaires. You can download NVivo from the Apps on Demand feature of the student desktop on University PCs. Here is a short video to help you get started and also a longer 'how-to' video.

In addition the University also offers SPSS. Please see the SPSS page at UoD IT.