Here, we have gathered useful resources for you to use that will help you with your studies and assignments. They are divided in the following categories:
Finding journal articles
In the Home Page, you will find some of the newest books in the Library Collection related to Medical Education. You can also perform searches to the Library Collection using "Library Search", directly from the Subject Guide Home page. There are also some quick links to services you might find useful, such as Resource Lists, an A to Z list of eResources, as well as information on how to request books that are not currently part of the collection. In addition, you can find information about Inter-Library Loans (ILL), in case you need a resource that is not part of our collection but might be obtained from another library.
If you feel that you need any extra help, don't hesitate to contact us using the information in the Get Help section.
Use the tabs on the side of the page to navigate across the various resources.
This volume reflects on how anthropologists have engaged in medical education and aims to positively influence the future careers of anthropologists who are currently engaged or are considering a career in medical education. The volume is essential for medical educators, administrators, researchers, and practitioners, those interested in the history of medicine, global health, sociology of health and illness, medical and applied anthropology. For over a century, anthropologists have served in many roles in medical education: teaching, curriculum development, administration, research, and planning. Recent changes in medical education focusing on diversity, social determinants of health, and more humanistic patient-centered care have opened the door for more anthropologists in medical schools.
This book provides an overview of the unique aspects related to a university based clinical practice. The development of relationships with senior colleagues and referring providers, building multidisciplinary programs within an academic institution, financing of academic medicine, and issues specific to the speciality are discussed. Building a Clinical Practice aims to highlight the importance of developing a successful clinical practice in an academic setting and to help guide readers through the challenges associated with that process. This book is relevant to senior surgical trainees and young surgical faculty who are facing the challenges associated with developing a clinical practice.
This heavily revised second edition defines the current state of the art for informatics education in medicine and healthcare. This field has continued to undergo considerable changes as the field of informatics continues to evolve. The book features extensively revised chapters addressing the latest developments in areas including relevant informatics concepts for those who work in health information technology and those teaching informatics courses in clinical settings, techniques for teaching informatics with limited resources, and the use of online modalities in bioinformatics research education. New topics covered include how to get appropriate accreditation for an informatics program, data science and bioinformatics education, and undergraduate health informatics education. Informatics Education in Healthcare: Lessons Learned addresses the broad range of informatics education programs and available techniques for teaching informatics. It therefore provides a valuable reference for all involved in informatics education.
Researching Medical Education is an authoritative guide to excellence in educational research in the health professions. Presented by the Association for the Study of Medical Education and the Association for Medical Education in Europe, Researching Medical Education includes contributions from a team of international clinicians and non-clinical researchers in health education, representing a range of disciplines and backgrounds. This accessible reference provides readers with the basic building blocks of research, introduces a range of theories and how to use them, illustrates a diversity of methods and their use, and gives guidance on practical researcher development. By linking theory and design and methods across the health profession education research spectrum, this book supports the improvement of quality, capacity building and knowledge generation. Researching Medical Education is the ideal resource for anyone researching health education, from undergraduate, through postgraduate training, to continuing professional development.