LibGuides: Dentistry Subject Guide: Key databases A-Z

Library Search

Use Library Search to help you find books, journal articles and other useful resources held at the University of Dundee.

ANATOMY TV

Anatomy.tv
Image databank provides 3D anatomical pictures with physiology and clinical content. Go to login page, and select UK Shibboleth, and type in 'University of Dundee' followed by your usual username and password on the Dundee login box. Please note that setting up a personal profile on the site is not required, and you can select 'Continue to Anatomy.tv'.

For off-campus access scroll down to the link "UK institution Shibboleth login". Select University of Dundee and enter your University of Dundee username and password, (noting that setting up a personal profile on the site is not required)

Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA)

CINAHL

CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals this database covers over 50 nursing specialties

For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password

Cochrane Library

Cochrane Library
High quality, up-to-date , synthesized research evidence.

For off-campus access enter your University of Dundee username and password.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, and is committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.

Dentistry Journals - DOAJ

Directory of open access preprint repositories

Directory of open access preprint repositories
It is becoming an increasingly common practice for researchers to share their preprints because it allows them to disseminate their research results quickly and openly with the rest of the world. As a result, there is a growing number of preprint-specific and generalist repositories that support the sharing of preprints.

This directory provides a list of preprint repositories that are available to the research community. It helps researchers find the most appropriate platform for them, enabling them to browse through existing repositories by discipline, location, language, functionalities, and other facets.

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center

ERIC
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. This resource contains more than one million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents dating back to 1966.

For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password

Europe PMC

Europe PMC

LILACS

LILACS
Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature. This database provides access to journal articles, clinical studies, evidence synthesis, guidelines, theses, dissertations, technical reports and government publications published in countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Maternity and Infant Care

Maternity and Infant Care

Maternity and Infant Care is a database covering over 400 English-language journals and other sources. It draws together references from journal articles, book chapters, reports, pamphlets, news items, audio visual materials, conference proceedings and other ‘grey literature’ relating to the midwifery profession, pregnancy, labor, birth, postnatal care, infant feeding, neonatal care up until two years of age, and the transition to parenthood and contains over 225,000 bibliographic references with abstracts

Access is via the UK Federation. Select Institutional Login, then search institutions for University of Dundee and login. Access is restricted to 1 concurrent user.

Medline

Medline
Authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals.

For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password

NHS Scotland Knowledge Network - resources and ejournals for NHS staff

NHS Knowledge Network
Offers a single interface to search electronic resources (e-journals, articles and e-books) provided by NHS Education for Scotland, along with access to key databases such as Embase.

Free registration for students working or training in health or social care in Scotland

PsycArticles

PsycARTICLES
Provides the full text of more than 100 key journals in behavioural science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to neuroscience.

For off-campus use - log in with your University of Dundee username and password.

PubMed - From the National Library of Medicine, an alternative way of searching Medline

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature. The Dundee customised link allows you to check whether the full articles are held at this University.

Reaxys

Reaxys
Reaxys is an innovative chemistry database that optimizes small molecule discovery
Discover, innovate and develop with confidence. Reaxys combines a billion chemistry data points from chemical patents and literature with analytical and predictive tools.

For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password

New database. An example search might be for silver diamine fluoride.

SciELO Scientific Electronic Library Online

SciELO
Scientific Electronic Library Online, a database of peer reviewed open access journals. It's main geographical coverage is Latin America but also has content from Portugal, South Africa and Spain. Title and abstracts are available in English but not necessarily the full article.

Scopus

SCOPUS
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Includes a filter to view 'Most cited' articles for your search terms.

For off campus access select "login" then "Other Institution Login". Choose UK Access Management Federation from the box then University of Dundee. Enter your University of Dundee username and password. Intermittent login problems (Sept.2023); if you have any difficulties gaining access, try clearing cookies, and using another browser'

TRIP - evidence-based resource

Trip Pro
Trip medical database to find high quality clinical research evidence.

For off-campus access Login with your University of Dundee username and password

Virtual Health Library

Virtual Health Library

A collection of health-related databases primarily focusing on the Latin American and Caribbean region, but also providing access to sources from other countries and regions.

Web of Science

Web of Science
A comprehensive database indexing all subject areas. Includes a filter to view 'Most cited' articles for your search terms.

For off campus access select Institutional Sign in/UK Federation/University of Dundee then enter your University of Dundee username and password

World Health Organization Documents

World Health Organization Documents
It is possible to limit WHO publications by health topic, countries or areas, years and document type.

Dentistry Subject Guide

Librarian

Get Help

Cochrane Handbook