LibGuides: Leisure reading: Home

Leisure Reading Collection

Leisure Reading Collections are available in all of the Library & Learning Centre Libraries. The idea behind these collections is to help you take a break from the rigours of study. Please note the Main Library has recently moved the Leisure Reading Collection to the atrium area, on the ground floor of the Main Library (opposite the Library Cafe). While the libraries at DJCAD, Robertson Trust Medical Library and the Fife Campus Library have designated areas within the library for the collections. If you are unsure as to where they are, just ask at the desk.Several genres are covered, but we welcome suggestions. Send any ideas to morebooks@dundee.ac.uk with "Leisure Books" in the "Subject box". All books can be borrowed in the usual manner.

Genres included in the collection are -

Fiction Bestsellers, Crime, Fantasy, Graphic Novels, Fiction in translation, Historical Novels, Mystery, & Science Fiction

Non Fiction Biographies, Cookery, Health (incl Mindfulness & Yoga), History, Music, Sport & Travel

Leisure Reading Collection, recent additions 14.11.2022

Hover over the book cover to see the title/author details and select to view in Library Search, then sign in to view availability and location of print texts and, if available as an e-book, access full text.

Weekly book recommendation

One Summer in Paris by Sarah Morgan
Call Number: DJCAD Library : Fiction (Leisure Reading collection) LR F MOR
ISBN: 1848457189
Publication Date: 2019
The brilliantly feel good and uplifting summer romance fiction book from the Sunday Times best seller of A Wedding in December

Sources of recommended reading

56 books that everyone should read in their lifetime
So many books, so little time! If you’re looking for a master list of the books that everyone should read in their lifetime, this list is a great place to start. Featuring iconic classics, timeless bestsellers, and life-changing nonfiction, these are the books that stay with you. Take a look at our recommendations below, along with the publishers’ descriptions.
Goodreads
The Independent 40 best books to read before you die
Love Reading
LoveReading is the UK’s leading book recommendation website. Our mission is to promote a love of books and reading to all by offering the tools, advice and information needed to help our members and browsers to find their next favourite book.
Waterstones Books of the Month

Book Prizes

Book Awards - Compiled by Waterstones
No matter if you’re a Man Booker veteran or at the very outset of your writing career, nothing exceeds the glittering recognition a richly-deserved award brings. Our own Waterstones work closely with a number of other award bodies to bring you results as they happen, keeping you at the tip of the spear for the very latest in vital, award-winning news.
The British Book Awards
The British Book Awards or Nibbies honours and celebrates the commercial successes of publishers, authors and bookshops. Organised by The Bookseller, it culminates in the stand-out event of the publishing year,
The Man Booker Prize
The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for five decades.
Caine Prize
The Caine Prize for African Writing is a literature prize awarded to an African writer of a short story published in English. The prize was launched in 2000 to encourage and highlight the richness and diversity of African writing by bringing it to a wider audience internationally. The focus on the short story reflects the contemporary development of the African story-telling tradition.
Crime Writers Association - Daggers
The Crime Writers Association Daggers have been synonymous with quality crime writing for over fifty years
Penderyn Music book Prize
The Penderyn Music Book Prize is the first UK-based prize specifically for music titles (history, theory, biography, autobiography).
William Hill Sports Book of the Year
Established in 1989, The William Hill Sports Book of the Year Award is the world's longest established and most valuable literary sports-writing prize and is dedicated to rewarding excellence in sports writing.
Nov 1, 2018
Women's Prize for Fiction
The Women’s Prize for Fiction is one of the most successful, influential and popular literary prizes in the world, championing and amplifying women’s voices and nurturing a global community of readers.

What are you reading?

Tell us what you're currently reading and what is your favourite book. Let us know by sending an e-mail to morebooks@dundee.ac.uk with "Leisure reading" in the Subject