LibGuides: Life Sciences Subject Guide: Databases and journals

Databases

BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Citation Index combines the carefully indexed life science coverage found in BIOSIS Previews with the power of cited reference searching in Web of Science.and offers deep and broad coverage across all subject areas, including traditional areas of biology like botany, zoology, and microbiology; alongside related and interdisciplinary fields such as agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, biomedical, biophysics, biotechnology, ecology, medicine, and pharmacology.
For off campus access select Institutional Sign in/UK Federation/University of Dundee then enter your University of Dundee username and password
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals resource containing abstracts and citations.
For off campus access select "login" then "Other Institution Login". Choose UK Access Management Federation from the box then University of Dundee. Enter your University of Dundee username and password. Intermittent login problems (Sept.2023); if you have any difficulties gaining access, try clearing cookies, and using another browser'
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database indexing all subject areas, from 1900 onwards. Includes citation indexes.
For off campus access select Institutional Sign in/UK Federation/University of Dundee then enter your University of Dundee username and password
Medline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature from a range of sources, including Medline records from 1950 - present. Create an account by logging in, and choosing 'More login options' from the list of 3rd party suppliers - and then select University of Dundee.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
SciFinder is a chemical literature database for chemistry and chemical engineering. You can search for author names, research topics, substance identifiers, chemical structures and chemical reactions. SciFinder includes Chemical Abstracts, CASReact, Medline, and Registry.
Registration Link – http://libezproxy.dundee.ac.uk/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=97CD5D66-86F3-50AB-1ECF-AA8A92B9E77F

Chemical Information Databases

PubChem
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. PubChem records are contributed by hundreds of data sources. Examples include: government agencies, chemical vendors, journal publishers, and more.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

Other Search Tools

ArXiv This link opens in a new window

Scholarly articles in physics, mathematics, computer science, electrical engineering and other maths/physics-related subjects. arXiv is a leading resource for physics, maths and computer science research, but not all the papers on arXiv are peer-reviewed in the same way as a traditional academic journal article.
ASM (American Society for Microbiology) This link opens in a new window
This collection of journals from ASM delivers up-to-date coverage of both basic and clinical microbiology
For off-campus access find and open required article, select Login via your institution, Location UK Access Management, Institution University of Dundee then use your University of Dundee username and password
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of resources that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making
For off-campus access select Sign in then Institutional login. Type Dundee in the search box and select University of Dundee. Enter your University of Dundee username and password.
JAMA Network This link opens in a new window International peer-reviewed journals from the American Medical Association
- This link opens in a new window
Select Sign In/Shibboleth/UK Access Management Federation/University of Dundee and use your University of Dundee username and password

The Lens
The Lens provides an aggregated search facility for over 225+ million scholarly works, 127+ million global patent records, and more than 370+ million patent sequences. Detailed metadata on records, including the people and institutions that generate this knowledge, allows connections to be made between diverse data sources.

Popular E-journals - Click on the cover title to go through to full text on the BrowZine website

Journal titles - Life Sciences