LibGuides: Official Publications: Scotland and the United Kingdom

Get Help

Need help using the Library?

Call in to one of our libraries

Email: llc@dundee.ac.uk

Tel: 01382 384087

Library Website

Or chat with us via "Ask the Library".

Scottish Publications

APS Group
APS Groups is the Scottish Government's official publisher.
Scottish Government
Find out how the Scottish Government is structured, who runs it, what it does, and how to contact.
Scottish Parliament Business Bulletin
The Business Bulletin is published each morning when the Parliament is in session. It includes details of current, future and past business of the Parliament.
Scottish Parliament Official reports
Chamber official reports and committee official reports.
Scottish Statutory Instruments
Find Scottish Statutory Instruments online from 1999 onwards

National Library of Scotland

The National Library of Scotland will be archiving all of the Scottish Parliament's business publications (including the Official Report) from July 2015. The Scottish Parliament will be moving to electronic publication only from July 2015.

The National Library of Scotland has also been archiving the electronic material produced by the Scottish Government since 2009, and this is freely available via the National Library's catalogue.

Please search for any material that you cannot find on the live Parliament and Government websites.

UK Government Publications

Acts (Acts of Parliament)
Search for primary and secondary leglislation, including legislative statements of Parliament that have become statute (written) law. Search by name of act e.g. Child Poverty Act 2010.

UK Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window Full-text access to government documents from 1688-2003, with information on social, political, economic and foreign policy. Includes Bills, House Papers and Command Papers, including reports of committees and commissions, accounts and financial returns, statistical information, treaties and foreign correspondence
Select "login through institution", then select United Kingdom and then University of Dundee from the drop-down menu. When promted, log in with your University of Dundee username and password.

How to search using HCPP
Short video demonstration of researching with House of Commons Parliamentary Papers.
How to search the 18th Century HCPP collection
Demonstration of the Eighteenth Century Collection.
UK Statutory Instruments
Statutory Instruments, also known as SIs, are a form of legislation which allow the provisions of an Act of Parliament to be subsequently brought into force or altered without Parliament having to pass a new Act.
Command Papers
Majesty’s Command’- hence the name, Command Papers. These papers include Green and White papers, government responses to reports, Royal Commission Reports and reports of major committees of inquiry.
Deposited Papers
Deposited Papers are documents that are placed in the Library of either House, usually by a government minister. They can be a convenient way for the government to make information available to members of parliament, without publishing it formally.

The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers resource covers Command papers. Command papers can also be found for free at the UK Parliament website.

GOV.UK
Information from all government departments and many other agencies and public bodies.
Hansard
Hansard (the Official Report) is the edited verbatim report of proceedings of both the House of Commons and the House of Lords. Daily Debates from Hansard are published on this website the next working day by 6am.

The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers resource covers Hansard from 1803-2005. Hansard can also be found for free at the UK Parliament website.

Official statistics
Search for Official and National Statistics and Governmental Research
TSO
Search for Parliamentary publications on the TSO's Online Bookshop. This offers a comprehensive bibliographic database of over 700,000 titles currently in print in the UK and their catalogue of official publication contains information vital to businesses and professionals.

Internet Archive of Hartley Library materials

Digitised materials from the Hartley Library at the University of Southampton. An extensive collection of British official publications archived in two subsets:

GOV.UK domain names

Gov.uk Domain Names
The annual list of of all the GOV.UK domain names provided by the Government Digital Service.