Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Subject Guide

Learn about key library resources for studying history

Library Search

Use Library Search to help you find books, journal articles and other useful resources held at the University of Dundee.

Using Library Search

This video provides a quick introduction on how to use Library Search to locate books and articles available to you via the Library. 

Inter-library loans

You can apply for a free inter-library loan (ILL) when you need a book, journal or journal article not held in our collection. We will do our best to source it from another library on your behalf. 

shelf of colourful books

Key University Archive Resources in History

Handwritten diary entryThe Archive’s collections include early modern to 21st century primary source material. Correspondence, journals, business records, personal papers, audio and visual sources are just some of the materials available to research local, Scottish and international topics. You can use our primary source material as resources for all topics across the Humanities. Dating from the 15th century, rare books, correspondence, journals, business records, personal papers, audio and visual sources are just some of the materials available for the study of culture, creativity and philosophy. 

You can find items of interest by searching our archives and collections online catalogue

To find out more about the Archive go to www.dundee.ac.uk/archives and email archives@dundee.ac.uk with your questions.