Image source: CC0 Public Domain.
Don't just use Youtube and Pinterest Click on the tabs below to find films/video, images and multimedia resources.
Remember that you may need to give credit to the resources that you reuse. How to acknowledge or reference an image will help. Our lists are not exhaustive, if you find a great website for images, films etc., please let us know at LLC-digitalskills.ac.uk
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowincludes a range of free to access content, but we do not have access to all the videos. Includes documentaries, plays, and instructional materials. Click on 'Titles' to view content available at Dundee.
Explore archive films - see shorts and features, showing the best from the BFI, national and regional archives - including 120 years of Britain on film. Please note: only the Free content is available to us
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowOnline video training resource that covers many software packages and subject disciplines such as Business, 3D Animation, 3D Drawing, 3D Printing, CAD, Design Techniques, Education, Photography, Video, and Web Design
The TRILT index provides access to information and listings on UK TV and radio channels from 1995 onwards
The Scottish Screen Archive is Scotland's national moving images collection.
Arts on Film Archive: free access: "The archive offers a complete database and an on-line video streaming of all 450 films made by the film department of Arts Council England between 1953 and 1998 and several films produced till 2003 by the dance Department of ACE."
FIAF International Film Archive The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) brings together institutions dedicated to rescuing films both as cultural heritage and as historical documents. More than 150 archives in over 77 countries collect, restore, and exhibit films and cinema documentation spanning the entire history of film.
A collection of over 2 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities and sciences, gathered from hundreds of collections and galleries worldwide. The images may be used, with acknowledgement, in teaching and research.
This link opens in a new windowBridgeman Education provides access to over 650,000 images - all copyright-cleared for educational use - from museums and art galleries worldwide. All downloaded images should have the following credit "© Bridgeman Images" attached.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
Wellcome Library shares 100,000 free medical images with Wikimedia Commons.
Your Paintings: free access: "Your Paintings is a website which aims to show the entire UK national collection of oil paintings, the stories behind the paintings, and where to see them for real. It is made up of paintings from thousands of museums and other public institutions around the country."
New York Public Library Digital Gallery: free access: NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 550,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more........Images may be freely downloaded for personal, research, and study purposes only.
Demarco Digital Archive: free access: "the digital archive comprises photographs plus documents, publications and other printed material either created or gathered by Richard Demarco. The digital records are drawn from the Demarco archives held by the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art and the Demarco European Art Foundation."
Multimedia items including TV news, documentary films, still images and more from a number of different archive collections. Note this collection is gradually incorporating the former JISC Media Hub content (over the last 4 months of 2016).
SCRAN is a collection of thousands of images, movies and sounds relating to Scotland from museums, galleries, archives and the media.
This link opens in a new windowNewspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) form the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. Includes over 1,200 titles
Includes full runs of national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society. Access is to collections 1 & 2, including The Dundee Courier, & The Glasgow Herald.
This link opens in a new windowComplete coverage of the Scotsman newspaper for the years 1817-1950
The Times in full text, including news, editorials, advertising, and images
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. The University of Dundee has access to collections 1 and 2.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowIncludes online UK and international newspapers. To find Financial Times (London) content, go to Search and select Power Search. In the box showing 'Enter search terms and connectors" type in the following [this example is looking for items on Brexit]:
PUBLICATION(“financial times”) and Brexit