Need help using the Library?
Call in to one of our libraries
Email: llc@dundee.ac.uk
Library Website
Use the tabs below to find databases and other useful information for your subject. Key Resources (and databases) will cover all art and design subjects.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowThis on-line resource for practising artists includes AN Newsletter, publications and advice on professional practice, job opportunities, news items and much more.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis database is the only specialist index available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Indexes art journals published from the late 1960s onwards.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowArt Full Text indexes journals covering fine, decorative and commercial art, both historical and contemporary. Full text articles are included from 1997, abstracts from 1994
The Berg Fashion Library is the leading resource for students and researchers of fashion studies. Interdisciplinary in nature, with great visual and integrated content, it is invaluable for researchers in the areas of fashion, museum studies, cultural studies, anthropology, and more.
NOTE that the University of Dundee subscribes only to the Berg Fashion library database, and not to the complete set of databases which make up the Bloomsbury Fashion Central Website.
Bloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It offers an expanding range of authoritative reference and book content, alongside a rich selection of museum object images, which are fully searchable and underpinned by an intuitive taxonomy for seamless navigation. The ideal research and learning tool for design and visual arts, it will support both students and academics by allowing them to explore the history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.
The award-winning Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowIncludes online UK and international newspapers. To find Financial Times (London) content, go to Search and select Power Search. In the box showing 'Enter search terms and connectors" type in the following [this example is looking for items on Brexit]:
PUBLICATION(“financial times”) and Brexit
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference is an online reference database, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowArt Index Retrospective, 1929 -1984, indexes art literature, covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Some 600 key journal titles are covered
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 260 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 100 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes half a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
This is an online database of new materials and processes which includes over 7000 innovative materials in various categories, covering disciplines such as interior design, industrial design, product design, textiles and architecture. Entries include a description of the material, properties and the manufacturer contact details.
To register for access if you are on-campus use the link above to take you to the Material ConneXion database, click on 'Log In' in the top right hand corner, then follow the prompts in the pop-up-box to create your own account. Use your '@dundee.ac.uk' e-mail address and note your MC password should be at least 8 characters long, and include at least one letter and one number. For off-campus access see below
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals resource containing abstracts and citations.
This link opens in a new windowFull access to Arts & Sciences Collections I to XV
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowFilm Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. Film Index International provides in-depth indexing of over 125,000 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for more than 800,000 personalities. Its rich content also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis on-line resource for practising artists includes AN Newsletter, publications and advice on professional practice, job opportunities, news items and much more.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis database is the only specialist index available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Indexes art journals published from the late 1960s onwards.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowArt Full Text indexes journals covering fine, decorative and commercial art, both historical and contemporary. Full text articles are included from 1997, abstracts from 1994
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowArt Index Retrospective, 1929 -1984, indexes art literature, covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Some 600 key journal titles are covered
A collection of over 2 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities and sciences, gathered from hundreds of collections and galleries worldwide. The images may be used, with acknowledgement, in teaching and research.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). Subject coverage includes: European art since late antiquity; American art since the colonial period; global art since 1945; fine art in the media; decorative arts and antiques; museum studies and conservation; archaeology and material culture; folk art; and architectural history.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis database is the only specialist index available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Indexes art journals published from the late 1960s onwards.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowArt Full Text indexes journals covering fine, decorative and commercial art, both historical and contemporary. Full text articles are included from 1997, abstracts from 1994
Bloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It offers an expanding range of authoritative reference and book content, alongside a rich selection of museum object images, which are fully searchable and underpinned by an intuitive taxonomy for seamless navigation. The ideal research and learning tool for design and visual arts, it will support both students and academics by allowing them to explore the history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis database is the key source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals resource containing abstracts and citations.
Animation is an "international, peer-reviewed journal brings together research in film and media studies, architecture, art and design, visual culture and creative practice. The journal seeks to create an academic dialogue mapping the interdisciplinary nature of animation studies".
Bloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It offers an expanding range of authoritative reference and book content, alongside a rich selection of museum object images, which are fully searchable and underpinned by an intuitive taxonomy for seamless navigation. The ideal research and learning tool for design and visual arts, it will support both students and academics by allowing them to explore the history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis database is the key source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present.
Design Week is a UK-based website, formerly a magazine for the design industry and features news, research, surveys, features and reports related to issues and events significant in the design world
A comprehensive database indexing all subject areas, from 1900 onwards. Includes citation indexes.
Focuses on collaboration in design, & publishes "Research papers which present theory, report empirical studies, and describe and evaluate collaborative and participatory design methods, tools and techniques". Papers "reflecting on practical experience of collaborative design" are also published.
COVID-19 period. JSTOR is granting expanded access to their full set of Journal Archives and Primary Source Collections, plus additional JSTOR e-books.
This collection of full text journals offers hundreds of titles covering the subject areas of Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies
Online access to Eye - International Journal of Graphic Design. Print copies are also held in the DoJ Library
"Design and Culture probes design’s relation to other academic disciplines, including marketing, management, cultural studies, anthropology, material culture, geography, visual culture and political economy."
" an international refereed journal covering all aspects of design. The journal welcomes articles on design in both cultural and commercial contexts."
Bloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It offers an expanding range of authoritative reference and book content, alongside a rich selection of museum object images, which are fully searchable and underpinned by an intuitive taxonomy for seamless navigation. The ideal research and learning tool for design and visual arts, it will support both students and academics by allowing them to explore the history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis database is the key source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowindexes journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis database is the only specialist index available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Indexes art journals published from the late 1960s onwards.
A collection of over 2 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities and sciences, gathered from hundreds of collections and galleries worldwide. The images may be used, with acknowledgement, in teaching and research.
Possible journals to browse
"Design and Culture probes design’s relation to other academic disciplines, including marketing, management, cultural studies, anthropology, material culture, geography, visual culture and political economy."
" an international refereed journal covering all aspects of design. The journal welcomes articles on design in both cultural and commercial contexts."
Design Week is a UK-based website, formerly a magazine for the design industry and features news, research, surveys, features and reports related to issues and events significant in the design world
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis database is the only specialist index available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Indexes art journals published from the late 1960s onwards.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowArt Full Text indexes journals covering fine, decorative and commercial art, both historical and contemporary. Full text articles are included from 1997, abstracts from 1994
Bloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It offers an expanding range of authoritative reference and book content, alongside a rich selection of museum object images, which are fully searchable and underpinned by an intuitive taxonomy for seamless navigation. The ideal research and learning tool for design and visual arts, it will support both students and academics by allowing them to explore the history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis database is the key source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present.
This link opens in a new windowFull access to Arts & Sciences Collections I to XV
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis on-line resource for practising artists includes AN Newsletter, publications and advice on professional practice, job opportunities, news items and much more.
The first ever scholarly, primary-source database focused on adult comic books and graphic novels. Includes the works of artists, alongside interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe Project Muse platform hosts a wide range of full text journals in the humanities and social sciences
This link opens in a new windowFull access to Arts & Sciences Collections I to XV
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis database is the only specialist index available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Indexes art journals published from the late 1960s onwards.
This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive archive gives access to 150,000 cartoons and caricatures published in British newspapers between 1904 and 2010.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowArt Full Text indexes journals covering fine, decorative and commercial art, both historical and contemporary. Full text articles are included from 1997, abstracts from 1994
This is an online database of new materials and processes which includes over 7000 innovative materials in various categories, covering disciplines such as interior design, industrial design, product design, textiles and architecture. Entries include a description of the material, properties and the manufacturer contact details.
To register for access if you are on-campus use the link above to take you to the Material ConneXion database, click on 'Log In' in the top right hand corner, then follow the prompts in the pop-up-box to create your own account. Use your '@dundee.ac.uk' e-mail address and note your MC password should be at least 8 characters long, and include at least one letter and one number. For off-campus access see below
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis database is the only specialist index available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Indexes art journals published from the late 1960s onwards.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowArt Full Text indexes journals covering fine, decorative and commercial art, both historical and contemporary. Full text articles are included from 1997, abstracts from 1994
The Berg Fashion Library is the leading resource for students and researchers of fashion studies. Interdisciplinary in nature, with great visual and integrated content, it is invaluable for researchers in the areas of fashion, museum studies, cultural studies, anthropology, and more.
NOTE that the University of Dundee subscribes only to the Berg Fashion library database, and not to the complete set of databases which make up the Bloomsbury Fashion Central Website.
Bloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It offers an expanding range of authoritative reference and book content, alongside a rich selection of museum object images, which are fully searchable and underpinned by an intuitive taxonomy for seamless navigation. The ideal research and learning tool for design and visual arts, it will support both students and academics by allowing them to explore the history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.
Digital hub for interdisciplinary teaching and research in fashion and dress. Interconnected major reference works, exclusive articles, case studies.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThis database is the key source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowAcademic journals resource containing abstracts and citations.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central is a dynamic digital hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Content is peer reviewed by industry and academic experts and includes interconnected major reference works, exclusive articles, scholarly eBooks, case studies, biographies, lesson plans, bibliographic guides, textbooks, video content, runway and backstage photos from fashion shows, and tens of thousands of images from museums around the world to create a rich educational resource.
Berg Fashion Library, Fairchild Books Library, Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases, Bloomsbury Fashion Photography Archive, and Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive comprise Bloomsbury Fashion Central. These databases complement each other and offer enhanced content discoverability through a unified taxonomy, powerful search, and related content functionality. Read more about our databases using the links to the left.
Take a tour of Bloomsbury Fashion Central!
