Discovery Research Portal

Discovery Research Portal is the University of Dundee's digital research repository. Set up in 2010, it covers all aspects of the University’s research activities and outputs, in one place.

Content, from the University’s academic staff and postgraduate students, includes:

• Peer-reviewed articles 
• Conference papers
• Books 
• Chapters
• Theses
• Research datasets
• Sound and image collections
• Multimedia
• Software
• Other forms of research data 
• Other forms of recorded research 

Where possible, a full-text version of the work is available for download.

Discovery also includes “grey literature”. For example working and discussion papers and technical reports.

A clickable banner on Discovery lists all University of Dundee COVID-related research. This includes:

• Research outputs
• Activities 
• Funded projects covered by any of the COVID related search terms.

Discovery content is searchable in:  

• University’s Library Search
• Google 
• Repository portals such as Open DOAR

This makes the University of Dundee research outputs discoverable across the web.

You may have heard of the term Pure, this is the software that underpins Discovery.

Discovery profiles are routinely given to:

• Teaching and Scholarship staff
• Teaching and Research staff
• Research only staff
• Academic Related staff
• Research Postgraduates

Your profile page is like your own advertising space! Consider who might see it:

• Future research collaborators
• Colleagues
• Funders 
• People outside of the University interested in your research

Being visible is key to making your work reach further afield. A full Discovery profile will bring cohesiveness to your research. You are in control of your research profile and you can make your own page as informative as you wish.

Here are the things you can add to the page:

• If you don't already have an Open Researcher Contributor ID (ORCID) get one now! Benefits of this are huge. Upload your ORCID to your profile. 
• Upload a photograph of yourself, it's always good to put a face to a name.
• Add Links to your profile including LinkedIn, Twitter, ResearchGate, Personal Website etc.  
• Fill out your Biography. Divided into four sections: Biography, Research, Research Interests and Teaching. Fill them all out or only the ones that apply to you. Order them in the way you see fit on your page.
• You can choose to add your Education/ Qualifications.
• Choose to display your H-Index and Citations or hide one or both of them if this does not suit your discipline. 

And that's it!

A quick and easy way to build your online presence.

For clear instructions on how to fill out your profile visit our Open Research SharePoint site.

Need help? Email: Discovery@dundee.ac.uk 

What's in it for you?

• Increase the visibility of your work by making it openly accessible
• Open access is shown to bring earlier and increased citations
• Avoid broken links by gaining a permanent URL for your work
• Comply with funders’ mandates to deposit your work in an open repository
• Gain an online archive of your work. 
• Take your archived research with you wherever your career takes you. Download as a Bibtex file or if you have an ORCID push your research from Discovery to your ORCID profile. We recommend you have an ORCID.

Discovery integrates information about each researcher’s publications, funding, research groups and impact. Discovery will support the University’s submission to REF2021, and internal research management. 

Academic staff can use the system to produce:

• CVs
• Publication lists 
• Other records of their activity
• Store and showcase all aspects of their research work

 By making your work available in Discovery you adhere to the University of Dundee's Policy to Govern the Publication of Research.