Tel: 116 123
Email: jo@samaritans.org
24hrs a day, 365 days a year
Tel: 0800 83 85 87
Open 24hrs at weekends
Friday 6pm - Monday 6am
6pm-2am on weekdays
Are you feeling suicidal or
worried about someone else?
Help is at hand
You can also call in for help at the University Health Service, Counselling Service in the OTI Support Hub or The Enquiry Centre during working hours Monday- Friday.
Resources and self help from NHS Moodzone
Online Forums, Textcare, Callbacks
SANEline on 0300 304 7000 between
4.30pm and 10.30pm each evening.
Do you need help now? Our Crisis Messenger text service provides free, 24/7 crisis support across the UK. If you are experiencing a mental health crisis and need support, you can text CAM to 85258.
NHS Service is available in many areas of Scotland, including Fife. It provides Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) for people experiencing mild to moderate depression and/or anxiety. The programme consists of eight, one hour sessions completed weekly. It can help you to pinpoint and change unhelpful ways of thinking, which can affect how you feel. It also teaches you more effective ways of solving problems. Your GP can refer you to this fully supported NHS service. You can do the sessions on your home computer/ tablet or using a computer in a local library. Please see your GP for a referral to this service. Shortly after your referral you will be contacted by the NHS Beating the Blues co-ordinator. You will then be given a code to access the programme.
Depression is a complicated illness in that the symptoms and experiences vary from person to person. Some resources and information to help you understand more about depression and some lifestyle changes which may help you.
01382 381 183
Email nightline@dundee.ac.uk
Also Instant Chat
Open 8pm-8am every night during semester time
Verywell Mind is an online resource that provides the guidance you need to improve your mental health and find balance. A library of more than 4,000 pieces of content, created and refined over the past 20+ years, has been written by more than 100 healthcare professionals and industry experts including experienced doctors, therapists, and social workers, and then vetted by board-certified physicians. Resources you need to feel happy and healthy.
Students Against Depression: Provides you with the resources you need to find a way forward from stress, low mood, depression or suicidal thinking. Also help and information for anyone supporting someone with these issues.
UNIVERSITY COUNSELLING SERVICE
Offers free counselling to students and staff. Emergency session for people in crisis is available weekdays at 10:15am.
To find out more or to make an appointment, click here.
Opening Hours: 9:00 - 17:00, Monday - Friday
Tel: 01382 384164
Email: counselling@dundee.ac.uk
Where to find us: Support Hub, OTI Building (see campus map)
Appointments with the Senior Mental Health Nurse are available through referral from your own GP or the University Doctor.
Opening Hours:
Monday – Friday, 9:00-14:00 during semester
Monday – Thursday 9:00-14:00 during vacation
Tel: 01382 384168
Email: healthservice@dundee.ac.uk
Where to find us: Level 1, Support Hub, OTI Building (see campus map)
The StayAlive app is a suicide prevention resource for the UK, packed full of useful information and tools to help you stay safe in crisis. Free download available from Apple App store, Google play or as a desktop Web app.
Feeling low is a part of all of our lives at some stage. Everyone feels upset, sad or disheartened from time to time, but for some of us it can be a real problem. The good news is that there are things you can do to improve your mood.
Find out about how nature benefits mental health. Check out the University's Botanic Garden - free entry with your student ID
Self-help Coaches and Therapists, offering appointment-based telephone support based on Cognitive Behavioural Therapy
Shout is an affiliate of Crisis Text Line® in the UK that provides free, confidential support, 24/7 via text. It’s the first free 24/7 texting service in the UK for anyone in crisis anytime, anywhere. It’s a place to go if you’re struggling to cope and you need immediate help.
CALM - Campaign against living miserably.
Offering support to men in the UK, of any age, who are down or in crisis via our helpline, webchat and website
Helpline 5pm- midnight 365 days a year
Tel. 0800 58 58 58
Free online courses and resources covering low mood and stress and all of the common linked problems this causes. Work out why you feel as you do, how to tackle problems, build confidence, get going again, feel happier, stay calm, tackle upsetting thinking and more.
Information about Self Care for Mental Health
SilverCloud is a website with courses you can do to improve your mental wellbeing. You can learn new ways to deal with the challenges you're facing. It's designed by clinical experts and supported by the NHS and Scottish Government.
NHS Audio guides for Stress, Anxiety, Depression and Sleep Problems plus many more resources!
The Feeling Good app, is a free, evidence based, guided self-help audio programme that helps support mental wellbeing. The app contains a safe and effective programme, Positive Mental Training, that has been widely used within the NHS for recovery from stress, worry and low mood. The app is accredited by NHS-Digital.
The aim is to give all Dundee University students and staff access to a mental skills training programme which helps you to calm your mind and develop a positive mindset, enabling greater emotional resilience to more effectively deal with the challenges of academic life.
Research shows that a few simple emotional tools can help you overcome anxiety and lead to better performance.
Podcasts and videos for your wellbeing
A range of topics including:
Stress, sleep, mindfulness, wellbeing,
good habits, overcoming anxiety etc
The Centre for Clinical Interventions provides a useful free self help module on Overcoming Perfectionism.
The University Mental Health Society works to reduce the stigma and misunderstanding around mental illness and fundraise for local mental health organisations. Email mentalhealthsoc_uod@outlook.com for more information
The Student Health App provides you with all the information you need to you look after your health and flourish at university. It is free to download.
