Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International College Dundee: Art & Design Pathway

For students studying with ICD

Welcome

Welcome to your Subject Guide for ICD students on the Art & Design Pathway. Use the boxes below to find resources for Art & Design.

Library support

If you need Liaison Support: From the 1st of March 2017, on Wednesday afternoons only, from 1pm-5pm, Yvonne McKenzie (Assistant Librarian) will be located at the Duncan of Jordanstone Library, Benin Room, to assist ICD students with any queries they may have about Art & Design resources and to provide database tutorials/or training sessions as required. Hourly appointments can be booked for the Wednesday afternoon slots, by e-mailing doj-library@dundee.ac.uk or just pop in to the Benin Room at the above times to discuss your query.

 

New Books

Inter-Library Loans

You can apply for an ILL when you need a book, journal or journal article not held in our collection. Find out more.

Library Search

  • Use Library Search to find books, journal articles, and more, at Dundee University Libraries
  • To find a particular title quickly, put it in quotes e.g. "Art and Modernism"
  • If you are looking for a selection of books and articles about a subject, type in some suitable words, just as you would in a Google search
  • 'Available in the Library' normally means our print books
  • Go to 'View Online' to read full text online items

 

A selection of books added to Duncan of Jordanstone Library from September 2016 - January 2017

Hover over the lower edge of the book cover to see the title/author details and select to view in Library Search, then sign in to view availability and location of print texts and if available as an e-book, access full text.

 

Key Resources in Art & Design

Material Connexion - A database of new materials and processes which includes over 7000 innovative materials in various categories covering disciplines such as interior design, industrial design, product design, textiles and architecture.

Personal accounts are free for University of Dundee students and staff - Use the Material ConneXion database highlighted link above to access, then follow the on screen prompts, or refer to the PDF "Material ConneXion - U. of Dundee - Database Getting Started Guide" for help logging in, or creating your account. Use your '@dundee.ac.uk' e-mail address and note your MC password should be at least 8 characters long, and include at least one letter and one number. If you have previously created an account with Material ConneXion, then sign in with your University of Dundee e-mail address and your Material ConneXion password. 

Here are some video links to help you use the Material ConneXion Database, plus their latest 'Live Quarterly Materials Reviews' via YouTube: Structural Electronics 1st July 2016New Manufacturing 21st Sept 2016, & Extreme Materials 12th Jan 2017.

 

Artcyclopedia 9,000 artists listed, 2,900 art sites indexed,160,000 links.

Quick Links

NEWS UPDATE

To view the newly researched works, please visit http://vads.ac.uk/collections/NIRP/

Get Help

Need help using resources for Art & Design?

Email: llc@dundee.ac.uk 

Tel: 01382 - 384087

Or chat with us via Ask the Library.

This Lib Guide was created by Yvonne McKenzie. If you have any ideas for the development of this guide please e-mail:

y.w.mckenzie@dundee.ac.uk

Facebook logo  Pinterest logo