Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art and Media: Free-to-access online resources for Art, Design & Architecture

Free-to-access online resources for Art, Design & Architecture (A-Z list)

http://www.artefacts.co.za/main/Buildings/archlistframes.php?orderby=Surname&initial=A&lim_start=0  - Artefacts [ A very well research source on South African architects and architects who have worked in the country

https://www.askart.com/index.aspx   - AskArt  - [A very useful sources of biographical information on thousands of artists with examples of their work. This is a subscription service but is free to access on Fridays]

https://nga.gov.au/exhibition/balletsrusses/default.cfm?MNUID=4  Ballets Russes [Compiled by the National Gallery of Australia. Contains a wealth of information who designed costumes for the Ballets Russes]

http://www.dictionaryofarchitectsincanada.org/  Biographical Dictionary of Architects in Canada 1800-1950

https://cornwallartists.orgCAI Cornwall Artists Index [Detailed biographical information on artists associated with Cornwall]

https://www.famousfashiondesigners.org/  Famous Fashion Designers [Biographical information on leading fashion designers

http://www.pulpartists.com/index.html  Field Guide to Wild American Pulp Artists [Contains biographical information of hundreds of American pulp fiction artists with examples of their work]

https://findnzartists.org.nz/ - Find New Zealand Artist [Contains biographical information on nearly 19,000 NZ artists]

http://www.germandesigners.net/   German graphic designers during the Hitler period

https://iawadb.lib.vt.edu/index.php International Archive of Women in Architecture [Compiled by Virginia Tech]

http://www.jugend-wochenschrift.de/index.php?id=24  - Jugend [Contains full scans of the German art magazine Jugend from 1896 to 1940.  A good source on German Art Nouveau. Click Blättern in the menu to see the scans]

https://www.lambiek.net/comiclopedia.html – Lambiek Comiclopedia [Biographical information on nearly 14,000 comic artists and cartoonists]
 
https://www.ltmuseum.co.uk/collections/collections-online/people?q=artist and https://www.ltmuseum.co.uk/collections/collections-online/posters London Transport Museum [biographical data on artists who designed graphics for LT with examples of their work]
 
https://sculpture.gla.ac.ukMapping the Practice and Profession of Sculpture in Britain & Ireland 1851-1951 [Invaluable source of biographical information on British and Irish sculptors over a period of a hundred years
 
http://manifestostorico.xoom.it/index.htm http://manifestostorico.xoom.it/artisti.htm  Il Manifesto Storico [Biographical information on Italian posters with thumbnail images of their work
 
http://www.metropostcard.com/metropcartists.html Metropolitan Postcard [International biographical information on postcard artists with examples of their work.
 
https://www.925-1000.com/ Online Encyclopedia of Silver Marks, Hallmarks & Makers’ Marks [Contains biographical information on thousands of siversmiths and jewellery designers]
 
http://www.penguinfirsteditions.com/index.php?cat=CoversAB  Penguin First Editions [Artists who designed covers for Penguin Books, with examples of their work]
 
https://rkd.nl/en/explore/artists/   RKD – Netherlands Institute for Art History / RKD – Nederlands Instituut voor Kunstgeschiedenis [contains biographical data on of thousands of designers]
 
https://teara.govt.nz/en  - Re Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand [a good source for research on New Zealand Artists]
 
http://www.simplicissimus.info/index.php?id=6   - Simplicissimus [Contain full scans of the German satirical magazine Simplicissimus from 1896 to 1944, with biographical information on its contributors. Click Blättern in the menu to see the scans]
 
https://suffolkartists.co.uk/index.cgi?choice=painter&pid=347 Suffolk Artists [Detailed biographical information on artists associated with Suffolk]
 
https://tilesoc.org.uk/tacsdb4/tacsdb__LOCATIONS_list.php TACS Database of UK Architectural Ceramics Locations [Gazetteer compiled by the Tiles & Architectural Ceramics Society]
 
https://www.whistler.arts.gla.ac.uk/correspondence/people/namelist/?initial=a  The Correspondence of James McNeill Whistler [Compiled by the University of Glasgow. Contains biographical information on people who corresponded with Whistler, and there were a lot of them]
 
http://www.original-political-cartoon.com/cartoon-gallery/uk-cartoons/   The Political Cartoon Gallery [A commercial site that sells British political cartoons. As well as cartoons for sale they have archive the cartoons they’ve sold]
 
http://www.wpamurals.com/wpabios.htm    WPA – Works Progress Administration [A state-by-state record of murals painted Works Progress Administration artists with biographical data and some images]