LibGuides: Philosophy Subject Guide: Journals and databases

Specific Subject Journal resources or Library Search?

You can Library Search or individual Journal resources to search for articles.

By using specialist resources like JSTOR or Web of Science:

You're likely to benefit from more advanced search options, and get more precise search results. For example, you'll often get more sophisticated options for narrowing down your search, setting up alerts and choosing search terms using a built-in thesaurus.
Specialist resources usually just focus on particular subject areas (e.g. history, medicine, law), whereas Library Search covers all topics. Therefore, searching specialist resources should give you more focused and relevant results.
Library Search doesn't cover everything the Library has access to.

Journal articles

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher’s Index features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews and covers all fields of philosophy and related disciplines featuring research published since 1940.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password

PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. It monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. They also host the largest open access archive in philosophy.

Humanities Index (previously British Humanities Index) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is an international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, covering over internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
For off-campus access login with your University of Dundee username and password
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. The University of Dundee has access to collections 1 and 2.
For off campus access sign in with your University of Dundee username and password.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full access to Arts & Sciences Collections I to XV
For off-campus access, click "login through your library" and then search for University of Dundee. Sign in with username and password.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals resource containing abstracts and citations.
For off campus access select "login" then "Other Institution Login". Choose UK Access Management Federation from the box then University of Dundee. Enter your University of Dundee username and password. Intermittent login problems (Sept.2023); if you have any difficulties gaining access, try clearing cookies, and using another browser'
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database indexing all subject areas, from 1900 onwards. Includes citation indexes.
For off campus access select Institutional Sign in/UK Federation/University of Dundee then enter your University of Dundee username and password

Popular E-journals - Click on the cover title to go through to full text on the BrowZine website

Journal titles - Philosophy