Skip to main content

Art and Media: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Art & Media LibGuide for students and staff from the Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art & Design. Liaison support is available for any teaching requests to support curriculum modules by contacting: LLC-digitalskills@dundee.ac.uk

Additional support is available every Wednesday afternoon from 1pm - 5pm for help with individual/multiple database searching, resource requests, or for any Materials ConneXion Room 4010, half hour introduction sessions (max. of 18 in a group). Hourly appointments can be booked for Wednesday afternoons by e-mailing:

doj-library@dundee.ac.uk

Recent additions to support 'The Paper Library' resource at the DJCAD Library

Inter-Library Loans

You can apply for an ILL when you need a book, journal or journal article not held in our collection. Find out more.

Batsford Prize book donations to DJCAD Library 2018, for 11.10.18

Hover over the book cover to see the title/author details and select to view in Library Search, then sign in to view availability and location of print texts and if available as an e-book, access full text.

The Batsford Prize is an annual award for students across the subjects Fine and Applied Art, Fashion, Illustration and Children’s Illustration.  In 2018 an international illustration category was included, opening up the award for students from the whole world. The winner of each category received a £500 ($500 for the international category) cash prize and £500 books from Batsford and Pavilion Children’s Books for their institution.  In 2018 the winner of the Illustration category was Lauren Morsley, BDes Illustration, from the Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design with a work entitled Music Celebration.  Updated 26.08.19

A selection of books added to the Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art & Design Library 27.08.19 - 12.12.19

Hover over the book cover to see the title/author details and select to view in Library Search, then sign in to view availability and location of print texts and if available as an e-book, access full text.

Search the Library

Find resources you need using "Library Search" 

Key Resources in Art & Media

Material Connexion - A database of new materials and processes which includes over 7000 innovative materials in various categories covering disciplines such as interior design, industrial design, product design, textiles and architecture.

Personal accounts are free for University of Dundee students and staff - Use the Material ConneXion database highlighted link above to access, then follow the on screen prompts, or refer to the PDF "Material ConneXion - U. of Dundee - Database Getting Started Guide" for help logging in, or creating your account. Use your '@dundee.ac.uk' e-mail address and note your MC password should be at least 8 characters long, and include at least one letter and one number. If you have previously created an account with Material ConneXion, then sign in with your University of Dundee e-mail address and your Material ConneXion password. 

Here are some video links to help you use the Material ConneXion Database, plus their latest 'Live Quarterly Materials Reviews' via YouTube: Structural Electronics 1st July 2016New Manufacturing 21st Sept 2016, & Extreme Materials 12th Jan 2017.

 

Artcyclopedia 9,000 artists listed, 2,900 art sites indexed,160,000 links.

Get Help

Need help using the Library? 

Call in to one of our libraries

Email: llc@dundee.ac.uk

Tel: 01382 384087

Library Website
 

Or chat with us via "Ask the Library".

A selection of titles added to the DJCAD Library 27.08.19 - 12.12.19

MyDundee

Quick Links

NEWS UPDATE

New - Trial access to Bloomsbury Architecture Library online. This platform offers access to a carefully curated collection of fully-searchable text and image content with an expanding range of eBooks, covering architecture, architectural history, theory, design, urbanism, landscape, and interiors. The platform also includes building pages, a world map, a time line and a glossary that contains over 900 key architectural terms.

Plus Trial access to the Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts Library online. This comprehensive resource offers instant, searchable access to over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines. Note access is only permitted until the 31st of May 2020.

ARLIS/UK/Ireland update  - The National Art Library have compiled a lengthy list of free art and design e-resources here: https://nal-vam.on.worldcat.org/courseReserves/
course/id/12702089  The list includes e-books and e-journals- see note next to each entry on content.

Pantone Reference Library -  The DJCAD Library has recently purchased the ‘Pantone Reference Library’ for Graphics and print, which is a standardised colour matching system utilising the Pantone numbering system for identifying colours.  Useful for inspiration and palette building and designing logos and branding, marketing materials, digital and web graphics and animation.  The Pantone Reference Library is located at the DJCAD Library, please ask staff at the enquiry desk to view. Note, this resource is for ‘Reference use only’ at the enquiry desk. Updated 26.08.19

The Complete Frances Hodgkins - the new online catalogue dedicated to the artist Frances Hodgkins is now live! Explore it here at: https://completefranceshodgkins.com

Updated 26.08.19

WTiN introduces Smart Textiles Channel

On 1st of February 2019 World Textile Information Network (publisher of Future Textile) expanded its intelligence services with Smart Textiles, for more information refer to:https://www.wtin.com/

Artin Scotland TV... the Arts channel reporting the innovative, inspiring the sublime. Mike Marlin:DUST...

To view the newly researched works, please visit http://vads.ac.uk/collections/NIRP/