It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Centre for Archive and Information Studies: Useful websites
Oxford Reference is an online reference database, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias
For off campus access select "Login with Athens/Access Management Federation", find University of Dundee and login with username and password.
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of people who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers over 60,000 concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors.
For off campus access select Sign in via your Institution then select University of Dundee and log in with your username and password.
Empire Online includes manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. Resources are accompanied by scholarly essays, maps, and an interactive chronology.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password
This database contains 1,009 scripts by 1,062 writers together with detailed information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimilie images for more than 500 of these screenplays.
This database contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other materials.
This database is a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. The titles are presented in the original: English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. The resource also features dictionaries of the Creole spoken in these countries.
This database contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters. Particular care has been taken to index the material so that it can be used in new ways. For example, you can identify all encounters between the French and the Huron between 1650 and 1700.
The first ever scholarly, primary-source database focused on adult comic books and graphic novels. Includes the works of artists, alongside interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform
For off-campus access Login with your University of Dundee username and password
This database is a collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
For off campus access use your University of Dundee username and password.