Arts on Film Archive: free access: "The archive offers a complete database and an on-line video streaming of all 450 films made by the film department of Arts Council England between 1953 and 1998 and several films produced till 2003 by the dance Department of ACE."
FIAF International Film Archive The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) brings together institutions dedicated to rescuing films both as cultural heritage and as historical documents. More than 150 archives in over 77 countries collect, restore, and exhibit films and cinema documentation spanning the entire history of film.
Luxonline: free access: online resource on British-based artists working in film and video
Scotland on Screen: free access: "provides free access to films from the Scottish Screen Archive with accompanying learning resources ........ The films document over a century of Scottish lives on film, with particular reference to social, economic and environmental change."
Archive of Digital Art : free access, it covers installation art and the methods used, contributors must have participated in at least five exhibitions, and or five publications in the field of digital art (started in 1999). The aim of the resource is to present works that place themselves at teh interaction of art, science and technology. International media artists, researchers and institutions around the world currently take part in this project.
Art Images for College Teaching: a free-access, free-use for education collection, with emphasis on ancient, medieval and renaissance European art.
Capital Collections: free access: the Image Library of Edinburgh City Libraries and Museums and Galleries
Demarco Digital Archive: free access: "the digital archive comprises photographs plus documents, publications and other printed material either created or gathered by Richard Demarco. The digital records are drawn from the Demarco archives held by the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art and the Demarco European Art Foundation."
Google Art Project: free access: "Explore museums from around the world discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces."
Visual Arts Data Service (VADS): free access: digital images from UK collections which may be downloaded for educational use
Victoria & Albert Museum Collections: free access: "You may search here for 45,000 works and 72,000 images from the V&A collections ... You are welcome to use the information and the images for personal use and educational purposes in print or on the web."
Web Gallery of Art: free access: "a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 1100-1850 ... The Web Gallery of Art is copyrighted as a database. Images and documents downloaded from this database can only be used for educational and personal purposes. Distribution of the images in any form is prohibited without the authorization of their legal owner."
Your Paintings: free access: "Your Paintings is a website which aims to show the entire UK national collection of oil paintings, the stories behind the paintings, and where to see them for real. It is made up of paintings from thousands of museums and other public institutions around the country."
New York Public Library Digital Gallery: free access: NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 550,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more........Images may be freely downloaded for personal, research, and study purposes only.
BBC Archive: free access, collections of themed audio, video and still images from the BBC's vast archives. Please note these programmes are not provided in a downloadable format.
British Artists' Film and Video Study Collection: free access "Is dedicated to documenting the achievements of British moving-image artists. It contains over 4000 video copies of artists' works, approximately 5000 still images, files on 450 artists, a library of over 1000 books and magazines, a collection of historical posters and publication materials, and documentation relating to key artist-led organisations, public funding bodies, etc."