Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication Design Subject Guide

Learn about key library resources for studying communication design

Welcome

Welcome to the Communication Design LibGuide for students and staff from

Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art & Design

Liaison support is available for any teaching requests to support curriculum modules by contacting: LLC-digitalskills@dundee.ac.uk

Additional support is available every Wednesday afternoon from 1pm - 5pm for help with individual/multiple database searching, resource requests, or for any Materials ConneXion Room 4010, half hour introduction sessions (max. of 18 in a group).

Hourly appointments can be booked for Wednesday afternoons by e-mailing:

doj-library@dundee.ac.uk

 

Library Search

Use Library Search to help you find books, journal articles and other useful resources held at the University of Dundee.

Library Search Tips

  • Use Library Search to find books, journal articles, and more, at Dundee University Libraries
  • To find a particular title quickly, put it in quotes e.g. " Design genius the ways and workings of creative thinkers"
  • If you are looking for a selection of books and articles about a subject, type in some suitable words, just as you would in a Google search
  • 'Available in the Library' normally means our print books
  • Go to 'View Online' to read full text online items 

Quick Links

Key Resources in Art, Media & Design

Artcyclopedia 9,000 artists listed, 2,900 art sites indexed,160,000 links.

Key University Archive Resources in Communication Design

The Archive’s collections include primary source material dating from the late 19th century. They include comics, the records of DJCAD and arts organisations personal papers, photographic material, illustrations, drawings and project material, offering information and inspiration across design, illustration, textiles and fine art. 

You can find items of interest by searching our archives and collections online catalogue

To find out more about the Archive go to www.dundee.ac.uk/archives and email archives@dundee.ac.uk with your questions.

Art students demonstrating in 1950, holding banners.

Recent book and e-book additions, to the Duncan of Jordanstone Library

Inter-Library Loans

You can apply for a free inter-library loan (ILL) when you need a book, journal or journal article not held in our collection. We will do our best to source it from another library on your behalf. 

shelf of colourful books

MyDundee