It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Communication Design LibGuide for students and staff from the Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art & Design. Liaison support is available for any teaching requests to support curriculum modules by contacting: LLCfirstname.lastname@example.org
Additional support is available every Wednesday afternoon from 1pm - 5pm for help with individual/multiple database searching, resource requests, or for any Materials ConneXion Room 4010, half hour introduction sessions (max. of 18 in a group). Hourly appointments can be booked for Wednesday afternoons by e-mailing:
This database is the only specialist index available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Indexes art journals published from the late 1960s onwards.
For off-campus access login with your University of Dundee username and password.
Bloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It offers an expanding range of authoritative reference and book content, alongside a rich selection of museum object images, which are fully searchable and underpinned by an intuitive taxonomy for seamless navigation. The ideal research and learning tool for design and visual arts, it will support both students and academics by allowing them to explore the history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.
For off-campus access, Click on Log In, Shibboleth Login Page (under HELPFUL TIPS), Show Organizations, University of Dundee then sign in using your University of Dundee username and password
COVID-19 BoB have advised that UK based students who have now returned to EU countries will maintain access to BoB until the end of July 2020. BoB (Box of Broadcasts) from Learning On Screen is an innovative shared online off-air Television and radio recording service.
For off campus access, Sign In, select home institution University of Dundee, then sign in using you University of Dundee username and password.
Online video training resource that covers many software packages and subject disciplines such as Business, 3D Animation, 3D Drawing, 3D Printing, CAD, Design Techniques, Education, Photography, Video, and Web Design
Login with your University of Dundee username and password.
Oxford Reference is an online reference database, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias
For off campus access select "Login with Athens/Access Management Federation", find University of Dundee and login with username and password.
Artcyclopedia 9,000 artists listed, 2,900 art sites indexed,160,000 links.
This is an online database of new materials and processes which includes over 7000 innovative materials in various categories, covering disciplines such as interior design, industrial design, product design, textiles and architecture. Entries include a description of the material, properties and the manufacturer contact details.
Use the link above to take you to the Material ConneXion database, click on 'Log In' in the top right hand corner, then follow the prompts in the pop-up-box to create your own account. Use your '@dundee.ac.uk' e-mail address and note your MC password should be at least 8 characters long, and include at least one letter and one number.
If you have previously created an account with Material ConneXion, then sign in with your University of Dundee e-mail address and your Material ConneXion password.