LibGuides: Medicine Subject Guide: Key resources

Welcome to the Libguide for students of Medicine

This page has links to the key resources which all Medical students should know and be using to support their studies or their research. More in-depth resources can be found using each of the tabs at the left hand side. Below is the Library's Quick Search tool to get you started.

A selection of Medical books added to the library from June 2023 - 2024

Hover over the book cover to see the title/author details and select to view in Library Search, then sign in to view availability and location of print texts and if available as an e-book, access full text.

Cochrane Database - evidence-based systematic reviews of clinical research

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of resources that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making
For off-campus access select Sign in then Institutional login. Type Dundee in the search box and select University of Dundee. Enter your University of Dundee username and password.

TRIP - Turning Research Into Practice

Trip Pro This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
For off-campus access Login with your University of Dundee username and password

NHS Scotland Knowledge Network - resources and ejournals for NHS staff

Free registration for students working or training in health or social care in Scotland.

NHS Knowledge Network This link opens in a new window
The Knowledge Network platform is the national knowledge management platform for health and social care delivered by the Knowledge Services Group. It provides information and learning resources from more than 100 quality assured health and social care providers and includes collections of articles, books and journals, guidelines, policy documents, resources for patients and service users, evaluated websites and e-learning courses.
Free registration for students working or training in health or social care in Scotland

Specialised Journals databases in Medical Science

BMJ journals collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of high quality journals covering the general medical specialties.
For off-campus access select Login via your home organization/UK Access Management Federation/University of Dundee and enter your University username and password
CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus provides access to literature in nursing and allied health disciplines.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password

MedEdPORTAL
MedEdPORTAL is a MEDLINE-indexed, open-access journal of teaching and learning resources in the health professions published by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC).

Medline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature from a range of resources, including Medline records from 1950 - present.

PubMed and Medline are equivalent in coverage. However the Library and Learning Centre recommends Medline, as it is a cleaner and more intuitive tool than PubMed

BMJ Best Practice & BMJ Case Reports

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Only available for students working or training in health or social care in Scotland (registration required), BMJ Best Practice is a point of care tool from BMJ Evidence Centre designed to support clinical decision making from diagnosis to treatment. The latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.

BMJ Case Reports
A large collection of peer-reviewed cases in all medical disciplines so that healthcare professionals, researchers and others can easily find clinically important information on common and rare conditions. This is the largest single collection of case reports online with more than 15,000 articles from over 70 countries.
more...less...
Staff and students can submit case reports -please contact llc-liaison@dundee.ac.uk for information on how to do this.

Cite Them Right - the University of Dundee's online referencing tool

Cite them right online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A tool to help you create citations and references for your assessments.

Key University Archive Resources in Medicine

Primary source material is a valuable resource for all kinds of subjects across the University, including medicine. You can material such as research notes and papers, NHS Tayside records, photographs and drawings to research the history of medicine, prevalence, spread and treatment of disease.

You can find items of interest by searching our archives and collections online catalogue

To find out more about the Archive go to www.dundee.ac.uk/archives and email archives@dundee.ac.uk with your questions.