LibGuides: Medical Education Subject Guide: Journal databases

"General Purpose" databases

The following databases contain publications for a wide variety of disciplines and subjects. They are a good starting point for all kinds of research.

SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic journals resource containing abstracts and citations.
For off campus access select "login" then "Other Institution Login". Choose UK Access Management Federation from the box then University of Dundee. Enter your University of Dundee username and password. Intermittent login problems (Sept.2023); if you have any difficulties gaining access, try clearing cookies, and using another browser'
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database indexing all subject areas, from 1900 onwards. Includes citation indexes.
For off campus access select Institutional Sign in/UK Federation/University of Dundee then enter your University of Dundee username and password

TRIP - Turning Research Into Practice

Trip Pro This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
For off-campus access Login with your University of Dundee username and password

List of Journals

Journal Search - by title or subject category This link opens in a new window
We have compiled a list of all the online journals that the University of Dundee has access to. You can search using the journal title or the ISSN.
BrowZine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is an App and a website, which allows you to browse, discover, read, and keep up to date with the key journals in your subject field, over the majority of the University of Dundee's subscribed E-journals. Additional features allow you to save full text articles, be alerted to new issues of journals, and save citations to Bibliographic software and to social media.
For off-campus access, you may be required to click on Choose my Library and select University of Dundee

Key Journals in medical education. Accessed through the BrowZine website.

Cochrane Database - evidence-based systematic reviews of clinical research

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of resources that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making
For off-campus access select Sign in then Institutional login. Type Dundee in the search box and select University of Dundee. Enter your University of Dundee username and password.

Specialised Journals databases in Medical Science

BMJ journals collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of high quality journals covering the general medical specialties.
For off-campus access select Login via your home organization/UK Access Management Federation/University of Dundee and enter your University username and password
CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus provides access to literature in nursing and allied health disciplines.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password

MedEdPORTAL
MedEdPORTAL is a MEDLINE-indexed, open-access journal of teaching and learning resources in the health professions published by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC).

Medline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to citations from biomedical literature from a range of resources, including Medline records from 1950 - present.

PubMed and Medline are equivalent in coverage. However the Library and Learning Centre recommends Medline, as it is a cleaner and more intuitive tool than PubMed

Specialised Journals databases in Education

ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. This resource contains more than one million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents dating back to 1966.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password
British Education Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles on all aspects of education in Britain from 1975 onwards.
For off campus access use your University of Dundee username and password
Child development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Child Development & Adolescent Studies, produced by NISC, is an index to hundreds of journals and thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide.
For off campus access use your University of Dundee username and password
Education Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, dating back to 1983. Books on education published after 1995 are also indexed. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and more.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password