LibGuides: Law: Legal databases

Legal Databases

Westlaw UK (includes Westlaw E-books) This link opens in a new window
If prompted to login, choose SIGN IN, then scroll down to ACCESS THROUGH ACADEMIC INSTITUTION, choose University of Dundee, and login as usual with your University of Dundee username and password. Westlaw includes a wide range of legal materials, covering cases and legislation for the UK and numerous other jurisdictions. Westlaw International resources are now held on a separate database called Westlaw international.
This Summer, 2019, Westlaw has moved to a new interface, offering a wide range of features, including improved searching and alerts, and direct links to content from Library Search. Over 300 Westlaw E-books are also included - use the 'Viewing' dropdown menu on the top left to switch over to the E-book interface.
Lexis+ (new interface for Lexis Library & Lexis PSL from September 2023) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legal research and information service, Lexis+ covers a broad range of legal materials and journals including International content. Browse Cases, Secondary Materials, Legislation, Dictionaries, Statutes, Forms & Precedents, Briefs & Pleadings, Administrative Materials

Login with your University of Dundee username and password
Hein Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Image-based and fully-searchable libraries of academic law journals, US treaties and agreements, US legislation and Supreme Court decisions, and "classic" law books.

Training and support resources

Westlaw Training and Support
Training resources produced by Westlaw covering case law research, legislation research and finding secondary sources.
HeinOnline Knowledge Base
This first stop for HeinOnline knowledge answers FAQs, offers tips and tricks, provides links to guides and videos, and more.

Legal Practioner Databases

Both Westlaw and Lexis Nexis have databases aimed at professionals working in the legal field. The content on these databases focuses on practical guidance, template contracts and other legal documents, FAQs and current awareness. These databases do not hold academic-focused or peer-reviewed articles but can be helpful to search when looking for information applicable to how the law is applied in practice.

Westlaw Practical Law This link opens in a new window
Practical Law is an online legal know how service. It provides resources such as practice notes, current awareness and standard documents to help you work smarter and advise with confidence. Navigate to Practical Law from the Westlaw home screen by using the drop-down arrow next to the 'Westlaw Edge' logo at the top of the page.
For off-campus access go to 'Access through academic institution', select University of Dundee from the dropdown menu, and then continue with your usual University of Dundee username and password
Lexis+ (new interface for Lexis Library & Lexis PSL from September 2023) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
With Lexis Practical Guidance you get instant access to concise practice notes, precedents, forms, drafting notes, checklists, flowcharts, client-ready materials and the latest legal developments.
Login with your University of Dundee username and password

International Law Databases

Westlaw International This link opens in a new window
Westlaw International full text legal resources.
For off-campus use - Sign in with University of Dundee username and password
Jus Mundi (Legal Research) This link opens in a new window
Jus Mundi is the search engine for international law and arbitration. Jus Mundi allows Legal professionals to use AI-powered technology to deliver thorough legal research and monitor the latest legal information from all over the world.
For off-campus access use your University of Dundee username and password
Lexis+ (new interface for Lexis Library & Lexis PSL from September 2023) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International content on Lexis+ can be located in the Explore>International box.
Login with your University of Dundee username and password
Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law This link opens in a new window
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) is a comprehensive online resource containing peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law. Written and edited by an incomparable team of over 800 scholars and practitioners, published in partnership with the Max Planck Foundation for International Peace and the Rule of Law, and updated throughout the year, this major reference work, which contains over 1,700 articles, is essential for anyone researching or teaching international law. Includes access to the newly launched Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law which complements the existing encyclopedia
For off-campus access click on Sign in via your institution, select University of Dundee and enter your University of Dundee username and password